The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston is a public university in Houston, Texas. Its former students earn a median $88,757 ten years after starting college, more than 96% of the Texas colleges we cover.

Show numbers for my family

Yearly household income. Saved on this device only. No account needed.

Acceptance rate
Not reported

College Scorecard

What your family pays
— /yr

Average after grants for all families receiving federal aid. Pick your income above.

Graduation rate
—

Within 6 years · College Scorecard

Earnings after college
$88,757

Higher than 96% of Texas colleges we cover and 96% of colleges nationwide. U.S. median $53,263.

Median, 10 years after starting · College Scorecard

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston acceptance rate & admissions

Pell Grant recipients51%
First-generation students41%
Women / men84% / 16%

Test scores: College Scorecard. Other figures: College Scorecard; IPEDS

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston tuition, cost & net price

What families actually pay per year, by income

Average net price after grants and scholarships for Texas residents who receive federal aid. Tap your income band.

Net price by income is not reported for this school.

College Scorecard, latest reported year (in-state, federal aid recipients)

Sticker price (before aid)

Tuition & fees, in-state—
Housing & meals, on campus—
Books & supplies—
Total cost of attendance, in-state—

IPEDS 2023-24 cost items; total from College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation$12,500
Loan default rate0.8%3-year rate, 2017 repayment cohort

College Scorecard; Urban Institute Education Data Portal

Full cost breakdown, in-state vs out-of-state →

State aid: Texas residents with financial need may receive a TEXAS Grant at Texas public universities; amounts are set each year and vary by college. Not included in the prices above. Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (College for All Texans)

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston majors, earnings & careers

The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston offers 2 bachelor's majors across 1 areas. Earnings below are for this school's graduates of each major, four years after finishing.

  • Health & Medicine · 2

Highest-earning majors at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

MajorEarnings, 4 yrsMedian debt
Nursing$92,899$20,500
Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$64,980$23,475
Quick list of all 2 majors
  • Dental Support Services and Allied Professions$64,980
  • Nursing$92,899

— means too few graduates to report earnings.

College Scorecard field of study, latest release

All majors by area with earnings 1 and 4 years out, and debt →

Nursing → Registered nurse

$99,830
Houston
$95,970
Texas
$97,550
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to grow 5.6% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Living in Houston

Cost of living
1% below the U.S. average

Overall prices in the Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX area.

BEA Regional Price Parities, 2024

Off-campus rent, 1 bedroom
$1,261/mo

2 bedrooms $1,497. Housing costs 5% above the U.S. average.

HUD Fair Market Rent, FY2027

Weather
63° / 93°

January and July average highs. 56 inches of rain a year, almost no snow.

NOAA Climate Normals 1991-2020

Natural hazard risk
Very High

Highest: hurricane (very high); tornado (very high); river flooding (very high); coastal flooding (relatively high); heat wave (very high); winter weather (relatively high).

FEMA National Risk Index, Harris County

Campus & students

Total enrollment (incl. graduate)5,048
Undergraduate degrees awarded, 2023-2497% bachelor's · 3% certificates
Campus typePrimarily nonresidential
Student bodyHispanic 34% · Asian 26% · White 20% · Black 14%International 1%

IPEDS fall enrollment; Carnegie Classification; EADA via Urban Institute

Harris County at a glance

Population4,838,303
Median household income$74,983
Adults with a bachelor's degree34%
Median age35

U.S. Census Bureau, ACS 5-year 2024

Compare The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston with similar schools

Similar public colleges in Texas by selectivity, graduation rate and size. Tap “Why?” to see where the price difference comes from.

SchoolAcceptanceYou'd payGraduationEarnings, 10 yrsPrice gap
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston———$88,757This school
The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston———$92,961
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center———$90,232
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center-El Paso————
The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio———$82,206

College Scorecard, latest reported year. “You'd pay” follows your residency and income choices above.

Common questions about The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

How much do The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston graduates earn?

Former The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston students earn a median $88,757 ten years after starting college, compared with a U.S. median of $53,263 across the colleges we cover.

Is The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston the right fit for your family?

Get a free report comparing The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston with up to 4 other schools on what you'd actually pay, what graduates in your major earn, and how each fits your priorities.

Build my free reportCheck my chances of getting in

We never share your contact information.

Sources on this page: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS; U.S. Census Bureau (ACS); Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS, Employment Projections); Bureau of Economic Analysis; HUD; NOAA; FEMA; Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By); Wikidata. “Colleges we cover” means colleges awarding bachelor's degrees to at least 100 undergraduates. Averages are not quotes; confirm costs with the school. How we score
Data: download this school's data (JSON) · Markdown · all datasets
Cite this: “The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston: cost, admissions and outcomes,” EducationGuide.com, https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-texas-health-science-center-at-houston (College Scorecard and IPEDS data).