SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University is a public university in Brooklyn, New York. Its former students earn a median $109,601 ten years after starting college, more than 99% of the New York colleges we cover.

Show numbers for my family

Yearly household income. Saved on this device only. No account needed.

Acceptance rate
Not reported

College Scorecard

What your family pays
— /yr

Average after grants for all families receiving federal aid. Pick your income above.

Graduation rate
—

Within 6 years · College Scorecard

Earnings after college
$109,601

Higher than 99% of New York colleges we cover and 99% of colleges nationwide. U.S. median $53,263.

Median, 10 years after starting · College Scorecard

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University acceptance rate & admissions

Pell Grant recipients3%
First-generation students38%
Women / men79% / 21%

Test scores: College Scorecard. Other figures: College Scorecard; IPEDS

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University tuition, cost & net price

What families actually pay per year, by income

Average net price after grants and scholarships for New York residents who receive federal aid. Tap your income band.

Net price by income is not reported for this school.

College Scorecard, latest reported year (in-state, federal aid recipients)

Sticker price (before aid)

Tuition & fees, in-state—
Housing & meals, on campus—
Books & supplies—
Total cost of attendance, in-state—

IPEDS 2023-24 cost items; total from College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation$12,500
Loan default rate0.4%3-year rate, 2017 repayment cohort

College Scorecard; Urban Institute Education Data Portal

Full cost breakdown, in-state vs out-of-state →

State aid: New York residents may qualify for the Tuition Assistance Program (TAP): up to $5,665 a year toward tuition at eligible New York colleges, for dependent students with New York net taxable family income up to $125,000. At SUNY and CUNY, the Excelsior Scholarship can cover remaining in-state tuition for eligible families (income limits apply). Not included in the prices above. New York State Higher Education Services Corporation (HESC)

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University majors, earnings & careers

SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University offers 5 bachelor's majors across 1 areas. Earnings below are for this school's graduates of each major, four years after finishing.

  • Health & Medicine · 5

Highest-earning majors at SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

MajorEarnings, 4 yrsMedian debt
Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech)$114,061$27,740
Nursing$108,786$22,023
Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences$91,809—
Quick list of all 5 majors
  • Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech)$114,061
  • Health Administration—
  • Health Sciences—
  • Nursing$108,786
  • Rehabilitation / Therapy Sciences$91,809

— means too few graduates to report earnings.

College Scorecard field of study, latest release

All majors by area with earnings 1 and 4 years out, and debt →

Nursing → Registered nurse

$119,720
New York
$109,440
New York
$97,550
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to grow 5.6% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) → Radiologic technologist

$102,730
New York
$98,470
New York
$80,110
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to grow 5.0% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Living in New York

Cost of living
13% above the U.S. average

Overall prices in the New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ area.

BEA Regional Price Parities, 2024

Off-campus rent, 1 bedroom
$2,729/mo

2 bedrooms $2,971. Housing costs 49% above the U.S. average.

HUD Fair Market Rent, FY2027

Weather
40° / 85°

January and July average highs. 47 inches of rain a year, 25 inches of snow.

NOAA Climate Normals 1991-2020

Natural hazard risk
Relatively High

Highest: hurricane (relatively high); tornado (relatively high); river flooding (very high); coastal flooding (relatively high); heat wave (very high); winter weather (very high).

FEMA National Risk Index, Kings County

Campus & students

Total enrollment (incl. graduate)2,204
Undergraduate degrees awarded, 2023-24100% bachelor's
Campus typeHighly residential
Student bodyWhite 28% · Asian 25% · Hispanic 19% · Black 19%International 1%

IPEDS fall enrollment; Carnegie Classification; EADA via Urban Institute

Kings County at a glance

Population2,631,580
Median household income$80,263
Adults with a bachelor's degree42%
Median age37

U.S. Census Bureau, ACS 5-year 2024

Compare SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University with similar schools

Similar public colleges in New York by selectivity, graduation rate and size. Tap “Why?” to see where the price difference comes from.

SchoolAcceptanceYou'd payGraduationEarnings, 10 yrsPrice gap
SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University———$109,601This school
Upstate Medical University———$92,257
SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry63%$18,95266%$55,763
CUNY Graduate School and University Center68%——$65,991
SUNY Maritime College72%$22,36764%$95,951

College Scorecard, latest reported year. “You'd pay” follows your residency and income choices above.

Common questions about SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University

How much do SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University graduates earn?

Former SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University students earn a median $109,601 ten years after starting college, compared with a U.S. median of $53,263 across the colleges we cover.

Is SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University the right fit for your family?

Get a free report comparing SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University with up to 4 other schools on what you'd actually pay, what graduates in your major earn, and how each fits your priorities.

Build my free reportCheck my chances of getting in

We never share your contact information.

Sources on this page: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS; U.S. Census Bureau (ACS); Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS, Employment Projections); Bureau of Economic Analysis; HUD; NOAA; FEMA; Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By); Wikidata. “Colleges we cover” means colleges awarding bachelor's degrees to at least 100 undergraduates. Averages are not quotes; confirm costs with the school. How we score
Data: download this school's data (JSON) · Markdown · all datasets
Cite this: “SUNY Downstate Health Sciences University: cost, admissions and outcomes,” EducationGuide.com, https://educationguide.com/colleges/suny-downstate-health-sciences-university (College Scorecard and IPEDS data).