Rush University

Rush University is a private nonprofit university in Chicago, Illinois. Its former students earn a median $75,194 ten years after starting college, more than 89% of the Illinois colleges we cover.

Show numbers for my family

Yearly household income. Saved on this device only. No account needed.

Acceptance rate
Not reported

College Scorecard

What your family pays
— /yr

Average after grants for all families receiving federal aid. Pick your income above.

Graduation rate
—

Within 6 years · College Scorecard

Earnings after college
$75,194

Higher than 89% of Illinois colleges we cover and 90% of colleges nationwide. U.S. median $53,263.

Median, 10 years after starting · College Scorecard

Rush University acceptance rate & admissions

Pell Grant recipients37%
First-generation students47%
Women / men75% / 25%

Test scores: College Scorecard. Other figures: College Scorecard; IPEDS

Rush University tuition, cost & net price

What families actually pay per year, by income

Average net price after grants and scholarships for students who receive federal aid. Tap your income band.

Net price by income is not reported for this school.

College Scorecard, latest reported year (federal aid recipients)

Sticker price (before aid)

Tuition & fees—
Housing & meals, on campus—
Books & supplies—
Total cost of attendance—

IPEDS 2023-24 cost items; total from College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation$19,273
Loan default rate0.3%3-year rate, 2017 repayment cohort

College Scorecard; Urban Institute Education Data Portal

Full cost breakdown, in-state vs out-of-state →

Rush University majors, earnings & careers

Rush University offers 2 bachelor's majors across 1 areas. Earnings below are for this school's graduates of each major, four years after finishing.

  • Health & Medicine · 2

Highest-earning majors at Rush University

MajorEarnings, 4 yrsMedian debt
Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech)$85,450$35,578
Quick list of all 2 majors
  • Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech)$85,450
  • Health Sciences—

— means too few graduates to report earnings.

College Scorecard field of study, latest release

All majors by area with earnings 1 and 4 years out, and debt →

Allied Health (Imaging / Therapy / Tech) → Radiologic technologist

$82,140
Chicago
$79,930
Illinois
$80,110
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to grow 5.0% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Living in Chicago

Cost of living
4% above the U.S. average

Overall prices in the Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN area.

BEA Regional Price Parities, 2024

Off-campus rent, 1 bedroom
$1,780/mo

2 bedrooms $2,011. Housing costs 12% above the U.S. average.

HUD Fair Market Rent, FY2027

Weather
32° / 81°

January and July average highs. 41 inches of rain a year, 39 inches of snow.

NOAA Climate Normals 1991-2020

Natural hazard risk
Very High

Highest: tornado (very high); river flooding (very high); heat wave (very high); winter weather (very high).

FEMA National Risk Index, Cook County

Campus & students

Total enrollment (incl. graduate)2,782
Undergraduate degrees awarded, 2023-24100% bachelor's
Campus typePrimarily nonresidential
Student bodyHispanic 34% · White 28% · Black 22% · Asian 9%International 0%

IPEDS fall enrollment; Carnegie Classification; EADA via Urban Institute

Cook County at a glance

Population5,182,090
Median household income$83,498
Adults with a bachelor's degree43%
Median age38

U.S. Census Bureau, ACS 5-year 2024

Compare Rush University with similar schools

Similar private colleges in Illinois by selectivity, graduation rate and size. Tap “Why?” to see where the price difference comes from.

SchoolAcceptanceYou'd payGraduationEarnings, 10 yrsPrice gap
Rush University———$75,194This school
St. John's College-Department of Nursing———$86,331
Blessing Rieman College of Nursing and Health Sciences———$72,430
Saint Francis Medical Center College of Nursing———$72,850
Blackburn College63%$18,46057%$46,802

College Scorecard, latest reported year. “You'd pay” follows your residency and income choices above.

Common questions about Rush University

How much do Rush University graduates earn?

Former Rush University students earn a median $75,194 ten years after starting college, compared with a U.S. median of $53,263 across the colleges we cover.

Is Rush University the right fit for your family?

Get a free report comparing Rush University with up to 4 other schools on what you'd actually pay, what graduates in your major earn, and how each fits your priorities.

Build my free reportCheck my chances of getting in

We never share your contact information.

Sources on this page: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS; U.S. Census Bureau (ACS); Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS, Employment Projections); Bureau of Economic Analysis; HUD; NOAA; FEMA; Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By); Wikidata. “Colleges we cover” means colleges awarding bachelor's degrees to at least 100 undergraduates. Averages are not quotes; confirm costs with the school. How we score
Data: download this school's data (JSON) · Markdown · all datasets
Cite this: “Rush University: cost, admissions and outcomes,” EducationGuide.com, https://educationguide.com/colleges/rush-university (College Scorecard and IPEDS data).