Athens State University

Athens State University is a public university in Athens, Alabama. Its former students earn a median $50,273 ten years after starting college, more than 73% of the Alabama colleges we cover.

Mostly online. 66% of undergraduates take only online courses (IPEDS, fall 2023). Earnings and prices describe a mix of online and on-campus students.

Show numbers for my family

Yearly household income. Saved on this device only. No account needed.

Acceptance rate
Not reported

College Scorecard

What your family pays
— /yr

Average after grants for all families receiving federal aid. Pick your income above.

Graduation rate
—

Within 6 years · College Scorecard

Earnings after college
$50,273

Higher than 73% of Alabama colleges we cover and 41% of colleges nationwide. U.S. median $53,263.

Median, 10 years after starting · College Scorecard

Athens State University acceptance rate & admissions

Pell Grant recipients43%
First-generation students48%
Women / men73% / 27%

Test scores: College Scorecard. Other figures: College Scorecard; IPEDS

Athens State University tuition, cost & net price

What families actually pay per year, by income

Average net price after grants and scholarships for Alabama residents who receive federal aid. Tap your income band.

Net price by income is not reported for this school.

College Scorecard, latest reported year (in-state, federal aid recipients)

Sticker price (before aid)

Tuition & fees, in-state—
Housing & meals, on campus—
Books & supplies—
Total cost of attendance, in-state—

IPEDS 2023-24 cost items; total from College Scorecard

Median debt at graduation$14,861
Loan default rate5.6%3-year rate, 2017 repayment cohort

College Scorecard; Urban Institute Education Data Portal

Full cost breakdown, in-state vs out-of-state →

Athens State University majors, earnings & careers

Athens State University offers 34 bachelor's majors across 9 areas. Earnings below are for this school's graduates of each major, four years after finishing.

  • Social Sciences & Public Service · 8
  • Business & Finance · 5
  • Health & Medicine · 5
  • Humanities & Languages · 5
  • Education · 4
  • Science & Math · 3
  • Arts & Design · 2
  • Technology & Computing · 1
  • Trades & Applied Technology · 1

Highest-earning majors at Athens State University

MajorEarnings, 4 yrsMedian debt
Computer and Information Sciences$102,639$31,060
Business Administration$67,349$28,250
Accounting$63,516$30,500
Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$63,342$28,098
Biology$56,511$21,187
Liberal Arts / General Studies$55,507$27,839
Human Resources$52,775$31,130
Education (Subject Teaching)$49,331$25,116
Quick list of all 34 majors
  • Accounting$63,516
  • Air Transportation—
  • Behavioral Sciences—
  • Biology$56,511
  • Business Administration$67,349
  • Business, Management, Marketing, and Related Support Services, Other$63,342
  • Chemistry—
  • Computer and Information Sciences$102,639
  • Criminal Justice$47,683
  • Education (Elementary / Secondary)$44,214
  • Education (Subject Teaching)$49,331
  • Education, Other—
  • English$47,773
  • Fire Protection—
  • Health Administration—
  • Health Professions and Related Clinical Sciences, Other—
  • History—
  • Homeland Security—
  • Human Resources$52,775
  • Kinesiology / Exercise Science—
  • Liberal Arts / General Studies$55,507
  • Management Information Systems—
  • Mathematics—
  • Multi / Interdisciplinary Studies, Other—
  • Nursing—
  • Political Science—
  • Psychology$34,242
  • Public Health—
  • Religious Studies—
  • Social Sciences—
  • Sociology—
  • Special Education$47,550
  • Studio Art$40,502
  • Theatre—

— means too few graduates to report earnings.

College Scorecard field of study, latest release

All majors by area with earnings 1 and 4 years out, and debt →

Business Administration → Management analyst

$121,970
Huntsville
$108,040
Alabama
$101,860
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to grow 10.1% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Education (Elementary / Secondary) → Elementary school teacher

$62,250
Huntsville
$61,380
Alabama
$63,970
U.S.

Median annual wage for all workers in this job, not only new graduates. U.S. jobs projected to shrink 0.4% from 2025 to 2035.

BLS Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, May 2025; Employment Projections 2025-35

Living in Huntsville

Cost of living
7% below the U.S. average

Overall prices in the Huntsville, AL area.

BEA Regional Price Parities, 2024

Off-campus rent, 1 bedroom
$1,177/mo

2 bedrooms $1,341. Housing costs 22% below the U.S. average.

HUD Fair Market Rent, FY2027

Weather
51° / 90°

January and July average highs. 59 inches of rain a year, 1 inches of snow.

NOAA Climate Normals 1991-2020

Natural hazard risk
Relatively Low

No hazard rated high.

FEMA National Risk Index, Limestone County

Campus & students

Total enrollment (incl. graduate)2,955
Undergraduate degrees awarded, 2023-2498% bachelor's · 2% certificates
Campus typePrimarily nonresidential
Student bodyWhite 74% · Black 14% · Hispanic 6% · Two or more 4%International 0%

IPEDS fall enrollment; Carnegie Classification; EADA via Urban Institute

Limestone County at a glance

Population111,233
Median household income$83,629
Adults with a bachelor's degree30%
Median age41

U.S. Census Bureau, ACS 5-year 2024

Compare Athens State University with similar schools

Similar public colleges in Alabama by selectivity, graduation rate and size. Tap “Why?” to see where the price difference comes from.

SchoolAcceptanceYou'd payGraduationEarnings, 10 yrsPrice gap
Athens State University———$50,273This school
University of Montevallo54%$17,68354%$42,957
University of West Alabama43%$12,68435%$44,232
Auburn University at Montgomery92%$13,22433%$44,391
Alabama A & M University58%$17,62124%$40,628

College Scorecard, latest reported year. “You'd pay” follows your residency and income choices above.

Common questions about Athens State University

How much do Athens State University graduates earn?

Former Athens State University students earn a median $50,273 ten years after starting college, compared with a U.S. median of $53,263 across the colleges we cover.

Is Athens State University the right fit for your family?

Get a free report comparing Athens State University with up to 4 other schools on what you'd actually pay, what graduates in your major earn, and how each fits your priorities.

Build my free reportCheck my chances of getting in

We never share your contact information.

Sources on this page: U.S. Department of Education College Scorecard and IPEDS; U.S. Census Bureau (ACS); Bureau of Labor Statistics (OEWS, Employment Projections); Bureau of Economic Analysis; HUD; NOAA; FEMA; Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By); Wikidata. “Colleges we cover” means colleges awarding bachelor's degrees to at least 100 undergraduates. Averages are not quotes; confirm costs with the school. How we score
Data: download this school's data (JSON) · Markdown · all datasets
Cite this: “Athens State University: cost, admissions and outcomes,” EducationGuide.com, https://educationguide.com/colleges/athens-state-university (College Scorecard and IPEDS data).