# Winthrop University: Studio Art (bachelor's)

Rock Hill, SC. IPEDS 218964, CIP 50.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/winthrop-university/majors/studio-art

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $16,817
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $37,440 (U.S. median for this major: $41,590 across 420 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $29,187 (U.S. median $25,361)
- Rank in SC: 4 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the SC median for this major (9 colleges, $36,007): +$1,433
- Versus the U.S. median: -$4,150

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.18 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $37,440 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in SC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,608 | $52,701 | 13.4 years |
| 30-48k | $12,983 | $54,269 | 13.8 years |
| 48-75k | $13,966 | $58,378 | 14.9 years |
| 75-110k | $18,518 | $77,405 | 19.7 years |
| 110k+ | $21,359 | $89,281 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Studio Art at SC colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lander University | $40,202 | $26,937 | $15,363 | 50% |
| University of South Carolina-Columbia | $39,517 | $27,000 | $22,811 | 79% |
| College of Charleston | $38,378 | $21,500 | $18,960 | 66% |
| Winthrop University | $37,440 | $29,187 | $15,343 | 57% |
| Coastal Carolina University | $36,007 | $25,000 | $13,966 | 49% |
| University of South Carolina-Upstate | $35,612 | $26,500 | $13,557 | 43% |
| Clemson University | $35,526 | not reported | $22,253 | 87% |
| University of South Carolina Aiken | $31,931 | $23,567 | $11,641 | 40% |
| Francis Marion University | $29,602 | not reported | $11,386 | 43% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $60,300 Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC, $62,580 SC, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Art Directors (SOC 27-1011): median wage $90,000 Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC, $87,990 SC, $114,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage $41,860 Charlotte-Concord-Gastonia, NC-SC, $38,290 SC, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
