# Winona State University: Finance (bachelor's)

Winona, MN. IPEDS 175272, CIP 52.08. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/winona-state-university/majors/finance

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $52,188
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $75,807 (U.S. median for this major: $77,992 across 438 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,167 (U.S. median $23,250)
- Rank in MN: 4 of 13 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MN median for this major (13 colleges, $74,237): +$1,570
- Versus the U.S. median: -$2,185

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.29 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $75,807 minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,224 | $43,861 | 1.2 years |
| 30-48k | $11,792 | $50,588 | 1.3 years |
| 48-75k | $13,814 | $59,262 | 1.6 years |
| 75-110k | $17,871 | $76,667 | 2.0 years |
| 110k+ | $21,307 | $91,407 | 2.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Finance at MN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities | $98,279 | $21,500 | $16,778 | 85% |
| University of St Thomas | $93,720 | $26,250 | $29,155 | 76% |
| Augsburg University | $79,809 | $27,000 | $23,873 | 52% |
| Winona State University | $75,807 | $23,167 | $17,503 | 57% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato | $74,852 | $24,233 | $19,139 | 54% |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota | $74,642 | $27,000 | $11,704 | 66% |
| Metropolitan State University | $74,237 | $31,000 | $16,863 | 44% |
| University of Minnesota-Duluth | $73,979 | $23,750 | $18,743 | 65% |
| Saint Cloud State University | $70,259 | $24,250 | $13,529 | 40% |
| University of Minnesota-Crookston | $69,866 | $24,808 | $12,212 | 50% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead | $67,054 | $22,300 | $17,997 | 57% |
| The College of Saint Scholastica | $66,210 | $23,000 | $27,846 | 71% |
| Southwest Minnesota State University | $59,824 | $22,900 | $15,291 | 45% |

## Careers
- Financial analyst (SOC 13-2051): median wage not reported metro, $102,990 MN, $102,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.2% by 2035
- General and Operations Managers (SOC 11-1021): median wage not reported metro, $99,340 MN, $105,770 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035
- Financial Managers (SOC 11-3031): median wage not reported metro, $163,410 MN, $166,570 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
