# William & Mary: Physics (bachelor's)

Williamsburg, VA. IPEDS 231624, CIP 40.08. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/william-and-mary/majors/physics

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: not reported
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $77,863 (U.S. median for this major: $78,569 across 107 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,000 (U.S. median $23,490)
- Rank in VA: 3 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings

## Physics at VA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Mason University | $96,138 | not reported | $17,915 | 68% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University | $92,746 | $27,000 | $24,953 | 86% |
| William & Mary | $77,863 | $20,000 | $19,096 | 89% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | $77,737 | $25,250 | $23,433 | 63% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $76,790 Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC, $72,170 VA, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage $128,340 Virginia Beach-Chesapeake-Norfolk, VA-NC, $150,570 VA, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
