# Western Michigan University: Electrical Engineering (bachelor's)

Kalamazoo, MI. IPEDS 172699, CIP 14.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/western-michigan-university/majors/electrical-engineering

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $76,145
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $95,469 (U.S. median for this major: $98,697 across 257 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $30,707 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in MI: 10 of 12 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MI median for this major (12 colleges, $100,212): -$4,743
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,228

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.61 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $95,469 minus $33,411 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $5,263 | $24,262 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $5,734 | $26,434 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $13,833 | $63,770 | 1.0 years |
| 75-110k | $18,307 | $84,395 | 1.4 years |
| 110k+ | $23,625 | $108,911 | 1.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Electrical Engineering at MI colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Michigan-Ann Arbor | $117,610 | $18,667 | $13,138 | 93% |
| Kettering University | $109,977 | $30,080 | $34,660 | 71% |
| University of Michigan-Dearborn | $105,446 | $21,853 | $9,492 | 58% |
| Wayne State University | $100,944 | $25,350 | $12,766 | 58% |
| Michigan State University | $100,481 | $22,500 | $19,680 | 81% |
| Grand Valley State University | $100,456 | $29,172 | $16,317 | 67% |
| Oakland University | $99,967 | $26,000 | $9,120 | 58% |
| Michigan Technological University | $99,848 | $27,000 | $14,182 | 68% |
| Lawrence Technological University | $97,532 | not reported | $32,918 | 61% |
| Western Michigan University | $95,469 | $30,707 | $15,273 | 58% |
| Central Michigan University | $91,542 | $30,000 | $17,597 | 59% |
| Saginaw Valley State University | $90,482 | not reported | $10,775 | 48% |

## Careers
- Electrical engineer (SOC 17-2071): median wage $97,680 Kalamazoo-Portage, MI, $106,070 MI, $120,630 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.9% by 2035
- Architectural and Engineering Managers (SOC 11-9041): median wage $149,030 Kalamazoo-Portage, MI, $166,930 MI, $171,270 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.5% by 2035
- Computer Hardware Engineers (SOC 17-2061): median wage not reported Kalamazoo-Portage, MI, $119,670 MI, $161,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
