# Western Illinois University: Human Resources (bachelor's)

Macomb, IL. IPEDS 149772, CIP 52.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/western-illinois-university/majors/human-resources

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $47,467
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $70,157 (U.S. median for this major: $68,118 across 170 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,000 (U.S. median $26,486)
- Rank in IL: 8 of 11 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IL median for this major (11 colleges, $72,050): -$1,893
- Versus the U.S. median: +$2,039

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.38 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $70,157 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $6,941 | $30,402 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $8,787 | $38,487 | 1.1 years |
| 48-75k | $12,062 | $52,832 | 1.5 years |
| 75-110k | $16,294 | $71,368 | 2.1 years |
| 110k+ | $19,701 | $86,290 | 2.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Human Resources at IL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Northwestern University | $108,498 | $38,832 | $29,167 | 95% |
| Benedictine University | $90,891 | $31,872 | $22,313 | 50% |
| University of St Francis | $90,495 | not reported | $13,006 | 67% |
| Loyola University Chicago | $86,190 | not reported | $36,079 | 73% |
| Lewis University | $76,485 | $27,000 | $17,028 | 67% |
| Concordia University-Chicago | $72,050 | $34,419 | $18,436 | 37% |
| North Central College | $71,555 | $24,314 | $21,044 | 64% |
| Western Illinois University | $70,157 | $26,000 | $12,937 | 45% |
| McKendree University | $63,519 | $24,625 | $24,717 | 53% |
| Northeastern Illinois University | $63,276 | $15,365 | $14,109 | 22% |
| Greenville University | $55,263 | not reported | $19,533 | 40% |

## Careers
- HR specialist (SOC 13-1071): median wage not reported metro, $76,820 IL, $75,940 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.4% by 2035
- Training and Development Specialists (SOC 13-1151): median wage not reported metro, $67,380 IL, $69,280 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.8% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $80,550 IL, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
