# Washington State University: Criminal Justice (bachelor's)

Pullman, WA. IPEDS 236939, CIP 43.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/washington-state-university/majors/criminal-justice

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,020
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $62,747 (U.S. median for this major: $55,208 across 584 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $21,577 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in WA: 4 of 7 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the WA median for this major (7 colleges, $62,747): +$0
- Versus the U.S. median: +$7,539

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.37 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $62,747 minus $40,219 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,074 | $30,913 | 1.4 years |
| 30-48k | $8,971 | $39,203 | 1.7 years |
| 48-75k | $11,519 | $50,338 | 2.2 years |
| 75-110k | $18,426 | $80,522 | 3.6 years |
| 110k+ | $24,726 | $108,053 | 4.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Criminal Justice at WA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle University | $74,018 | $21,247 | $34,662 | 76% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus | $63,311 | $15,269 | $14,091 | 85% |
| University of Washington-Tacoma Campus | $63,311 | $15,269 | $10,163 | 63% |
| Washington State University | $62,747 | $21,577 | $14,971 | 61% |
| Central Washington University | $60,761 | $21,954 | $18,476 | 54% |
| Saint Martin's University | $55,951 | not reported | $28,119 | 52% |
| Heritage University | $55,375 | $19,988 | $14,598 | 54% |

## Careers
- Police officer (SOC 33-3051): median wage not reported metro, $102,080 WA, $76,210 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.5% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $88,790 WA, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035
- Child, Family, and School Social Workers (SOC 21-1021): median wage not reported metro, $74,480 WA, $59,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.4% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
