# Washington College: Environmental Science / Conservation (bachelor's)

Chestertown, MD. IPEDS 164216, CIP 03.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/washington-college/majors/environmental-science-conservation

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $22,324
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $46,831 (U.S. median for this major: $54,966 across 260 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,529 (U.S. median $22,875)
- Rank in MD: 6 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MD median for this major (6 colleges, $55,978): -$9,147
- Versus the U.S. median: -$8,135

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.11 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $46,831 minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $17,804 | $73,174 | 7.2 years |
| 30-48k | $22,722 | $93,387 | 9.2 years |
| 48-75k | $25,068 | $103,029 | 10.2 years |
| 75-110k | $26,760 | $109,984 | 10.9 years |
| 110k+ | $33,980 | $139,658 | 13.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Environmental Science / Conservation at MD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maryland-College Park | $59,329 | $19,699 | $15,678 | 89% |
| Towson University | $57,388 | $22,750 | $17,413 | 70% |
| St. Mary's College of Maryland | $56,619 | $20,000 | $18,441 | 70% |
| University of Maryland-Baltimore County | $55,336 | $21,750 | $16,467 | 70% |
| Salisbury University | $49,706 | $20,606 | $17,743 | 68% |
| Washington College | $46,831 | $26,529 | $27,898 | 65% |

## Careers
- Environmental scientist (SOC 19-2041): median wage not reported metro, $84,190 MD, $82,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.1% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $84,720 MD, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035
- Conservation Scientists (SOC 19-1031): median wage not reported metro, $83,290 MD, $73,010 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.3% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
