# Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: Psychology (bachelor's)

Blacksburg, VA. IPEDS 233921, CIP 42.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university/majors/psychology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $33,733
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $56,365 (U.S. median for this major: $49,968 across 998 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $22,151 (U.S. median $25,490)
- Rank in VA: 7 of 32 colleges by 4-year earnings

## Psychology at VA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Virginia Military Institute | $75,059 | $19,250 | $17,113 | 76% |
| University of Richmond | $64,584 | $25,500 | $31,309 | 85% |
| University of Virginia | $62,794 | $19,500 | $21,565 | 96% |
| George Mason University | $62,563 | $21,000 | $17,915 | 68% |
| William & Mary | $59,226 | $19,379 | $19,096 | 89% |
| Shenandoah University | $58,144 | $26,000 | $30,298 | 67% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University | $56,365 | $22,151 | $24,953 | 86% |
| James Madison University | $56,212 | $23,000 | $23,322 | 80% |
| Marymount University | $55,869 | $27,000 | $29,137 | 54% |
| Randolph-Macon College | $53,687 | $27,000 | $27,866 | 71% |
| Christopher Newport University | $53,600 | $23,500 | $23,015 | 72% |
| University of Mary Washington | $53,388 | $22,989 | $20,667 | 66% |
| Randolph College | $52,293 | not reported | $15,921 | 46% |
| Old Dominion University | $51,907 | $26,000 | $14,638 | 46% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | $51,440 | $23,199 | $23,433 | 63% |
| Virginia Union University | $50,826 | $27,000 | $13,235 | 34% |
| Roanoke College | $49,018 | $27,000 | $24,503 | 67% |
| Longwood University | $48,942 | $25,000 | $19,066 | 61% |
| Radford University | $48,935 | $25,233 | $14,578 | 49% |
| University of Lynchburg | $48,610 | not reported | $22,235 | 57% |
| Hampton University | $45,749 | $26,000 | $25,319 | 57% |
| Mary Baldwin University | $45,703 | not reported | $12,756 | 39% |
| Hollins University | $45,633 | $27,000 | $20,896 | 65% |
| Liberty University | $45,340 | $32,916 | $29,357 | 65% |
| University of Virginia's College at Wise | $44,430 | $18,031 | $9,210 | 47% |
| Virginia Wesleyan University | $43,511 | $27,000 | $19,676 | 42% |
| Emory & Henry University | $42,940 | $27,000 | $19,061 | 56% |
| Bridgewater College | $42,141 | $26,733 | $17,800 | 53% |
| Regent University | $41,007 | $33,625 | $19,923 | 57% |
| Virginia State University | $37,861 | $27,000 | $15,840 | 39% |
| Ferrum College | $37,841 | not reported | $20,082 | 32% |
| Southern Virginia University | $36,808 | not reported | $22,213 | 34% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA, $53,260 VA, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
