# Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University: Environmental Science / Conservation (bachelor's)

Blacksburg, VA. IPEDS 233921, CIP 03.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/virginia-polytechnic-institute-and-state-university/majors/environmental-science-conservation

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $39,361
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,868 (U.S. median for this major: $54,966 across 260 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,408 (U.S. median $22,875)
- Rank in VA: 2 of 8 colleges by 4-year earnings

## Environmental Science / Conservation at VA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| George Mason University | $60,874 | $23,021 | $17,915 | 68% |
| Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University | $59,868 | $26,408 | $24,953 | 86% |
| University of Virginia | $58,475 | $13,952 | $21,565 | 96% |
| University of Lynchburg | $55,883 | not reported | $22,235 | 57% |
| Roanoke College | $54,957 | $27,000 | $24,503 | 67% |
| Randolph-Macon College | $54,186 | not reported | $27,866 | 71% |
| Virginia Commonwealth University | $50,217 | $23,500 | $23,433 | 63% |
| Ferrum College | $49,527 | not reported | $20,082 | 32% |

## Careers
- Environmental scientist (SOC 19-2041): median wage $70,820 Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA, $82,230 VA, $82,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.1% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage $77,680 Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA, $80,380 VA, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035
- Conservation Scientists (SOC 19-1031): median wage $68,560 Blacksburg-Christiansburg-Radford, VA, $77,380 VA, $73,010 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.3% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
