# Utah Tech University: Biology (bachelor's)

Saint George, UT. IPEDS 230171, CIP 26.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/utah-tech-university/majors/biology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $35,979
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $53,872 (U.S. median for this major: $57,996 across 837 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $13,697 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in UT: 5 of 5 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the UT median for this major (5 colleges, $57,010): -$3,138
- Versus the U.S. median: -$4,124

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.55 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $53,872 minus $38,580 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in UT (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,158 | $59,869 | 3.9 years |
| 30-48k | $13,214 | $60,124 | 3.9 years |
| 48-75k | $15,440 | $70,252 | 4.6 years |
| 75-110k | $18,715 | $85,153 | 5.6 years |
| 110k+ | $20,605 | $93,753 | 6.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Biology at UT colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Utah | $62,950 | $21,000 | $16,200 | 65% |
| Southern Utah University | $57,709 | $13,125 | $10,462 | 61% |
| Utah Valley University | $57,010 | $19,200 | $6,376 | 45% |
| Utah State University | $55,716 | $15,750 | $14,936 | 59% |
| Utah Tech University | $53,872 | $13,697 | $16,039 | 38% |

## Careers
- Biological technician (SOC 19-4020): median wage not reported St. George, UT, $52,960 UT, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $72,020 St. George, UT, $76,330 UT, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported St. George, UT, $119,430 UT, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
