# University of Wisconsin-Whitewater: Special Education (bachelor's)

Whitewater, WI. IPEDS 240189, CIP 13.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-wisconsin-whitewater/majors/special-education

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $47,592
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $51,908 (U.S. median for this major: $51,258 across 175 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $26,602)
- Rank in WI: 2 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the WI median for this major (9 colleges, $49,463): +$2,445
- Versus the U.S. median: +$650

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.44 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $51,908 minus $37,564 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,440 | $37,474 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $8,752 | $38,859 | 2.7 years |
| 48-75k | $11,176 | $49,621 | 3.5 years |
| 75-110k | $16,551 | $73,486 | 5.1 years |
| 110k+ | $18,229 | $80,937 | 5.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Special Education at WI colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee | $52,142 | $26,375 | $15,014 | 49% |
| University of Wisconsin-Whitewater | $51,908 | $27,000 | $14,158 | 59% |
| Carroll University | $50,570 | not reported | $15,193 | 71% |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison | $50,302 | $22,863 | $17,354 | 90% |
| Concordia University-Wisconsin | $49,463 | not reported | $36,201 | 68% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stout | $48,444 | $30,000 | $17,490 | 55% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire | $47,877 | $27,000 | $16,550 | 64% |
| University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh | $47,828 | $27,000 | $14,305 | 46% |
| University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point | $46,315 | $23,607 | $14,559 | 51% |

## Careers
- Special education teacher (SOC 25-2052): median wage not reported metro, $61,520 WI, $65,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage not reported metro, $63,390 WI, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
