# University of Wisconsin-Platteville: Criminal Justice (bachelor's)

Platteville, WI. IPEDS 240462, CIP 43.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-wisconsin-platteville/majors/criminal-justice

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,636
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,533 (U.S. median for this major: $55,208 across 584 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in WI: 6 of 13 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the WI median for this major (13 colleges, $58,762): +$771
- Versus the U.S. median: +$4,325

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.56 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,533 minus $37,564 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WI (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,009 | $41,081 | 1.9 years |
| 30-48k | $10,459 | $47,693 | 2.2 years |
| 48-75k | $12,065 | $55,016 | 2.5 years |
| 75-110k | $17,984 | $82,007 | 3.7 years |
| 110k+ | $20,245 | $92,317 | 4.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Criminal Justice at WI colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Marian University | $70,934 | not reported | $21,937 | 44% |
| Herzing University-Madison | $69,601 | $28,399 | $22,327 | 28% |
| Herzing University-Kenosha | $69,601 | $28,399 | $23,066 | 72% |
| Herzing University-Brookfield | $69,601 | $28,399 | $20,514 | 42% |
| Carthage College | $60,633 | $27,000 | $26,565 | 64% |
| University of Wisconsin-Platteville | $59,533 | $25,000 | $16,032 | 56% |
| University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire | $58,762 | $21,500 | $16,550 | 64% |
| University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh | $58,489 | $25,000 | $14,305 | 46% |
| University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee | $58,223 | $25,715 | $15,014 | 49% |
| University of Wisconsin-Superior | $58,167 | $26,175 | $12,220 | 42% |
| Concordia University-Wisconsin | $56,188 | $27,000 | $36,201 | 68% |
| University of Wisconsin-Parkside | $54,156 | $20,745 | $11,772 | 40% |
| Carroll University | $51,960 | $27,000 | $15,193 | 71% |

## Careers
- Police officer (SOC 33-3051): median wage not reported metro, $78,090 WI, $76,210 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.5% by 2035
- Compliance Officers (SOC 13-1041): median wage not reported metro, $78,800 WI, $80,730 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.8% by 2035
- Child, Family, and School Social Workers (SOC 21-1021): median wage not reported metro, $59,280 WI, $59,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.4% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
