# University of St Thomas: Education (Elementary / Secondary) (bachelor's)

Saint Paul, MN. IPEDS 174914, CIP 13.12. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-st-thomas-mn/majors/education-elementary-secondary

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $42,819
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $47,712 (U.S. median for this major: $47,823 across 671 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in MN: 10 of 22 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MN median for this major (22 colleges, $47,592): +$120
- Versus the U.S. median: -$111

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.12 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $47,712 minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $28,131 | $115,900 | 12.2 years |
| 30-48k | $26,820 | $110,498 | 11.6 years |
| 48-75k | $24,357 | $100,351 | 10.5 years |
| 75-110k | $25,363 | $104,496 | 11.0 years |
| 110k+ | $33,232 | $136,916 | 14.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Education (Elementary / Secondary) at MN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Martin Luther College | $56,435 | $21,500 | $18,463 | 72% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities | $53,276 | $21,598 | $16,778 | 85% |
| College of Saint Benedict | $51,487 | $27,000 | $26,640 | 77% |
| Augsburg University | $49,698 | $31,000 | $23,873 | 52% |
| Concordia College at Moorhead | $49,551 | $27,000 | $24,902 | 61% |
| Metropolitan State University | $49,025 | $28,279 | $16,863 | 44% |
| University of Minnesota-Morris | $48,987 | $24,767 | $8,837 | 63% |
| St Catherine University | $48,822 | not reported | $19,764 | 61% |
| Minnesota State University-Mankato | $48,632 | $27,000 | $19,139 | 54% |
| University of St Thomas | $47,712 | $27,000 | $29,155 | 76% |
| Gustavus Adolphus College | $47,629 | $27,000 | $22,900 | 77% |
| Bethel University | $47,556 | $26,000 | $28,556 | 71% |
| The College of Saint Scholastica | $47,432 | $22,495 | $27,846 | 71% |
| Winona State University | $46,863 | $26,470 | $17,503 | 57% |
| North Central University | $46,380 | $26,400 | $25,817 | 66% |
| Saint Cloud State University | $45,386 | $25,449 | $13,529 | 40% |
| University of Northwestern-St Paul | $45,195 | $25,250 | $27,705 | 68% |
| Minnesota State University Moorhead | $45,142 | $27,000 | $17,997 | 57% |
| Bemidji State University | $44,719 | $27,757 | $15,261 | 48% |
| Southwest Minnesota State University | $43,904 | $27,000 | $15,291 | 45% |
| Saint Mary's University of Minnesota | $40,804 | not reported | $11,704 | 66% |
| Concordia University-Saint Paul | $40,801 | $25,500 | $18,462 | 46% |

## Careers
- Elementary school teacher (SOC 25-2021): median wage $79,730 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, $76,350 MN, $63,970 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $79,010 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, $76,460 MN, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Training and Development Specialists (SOC 13-1151): median wage $78,430 Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, $76,710 MN, $69,280 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
