# University of Southern Mississippi: History (bachelor's)

Hattiesburg, MS. IPEDS 176372, CIP 54.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-southern-mississippi/majors/history

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $30,684
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $44,586 (U.S. median for this major: $50,540 across 454 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,455 (U.S. median $24,000)
- Rank in MS: 1 of 2 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: -$5,954

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.39 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $44,586 minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,867 | $87,216 | 6.2 years |
| 30-48k | $20,432 | $89,696 | 6.4 years |
| 48-75k | $22,756 | $99,899 | 7.1 years |
| 75-110k | $25,812 | $113,315 | 8.1 years |
| 110k+ | $26,542 | $116,519 | 8.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## History at MS colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Southern Mississippi | $44,586 | $25,455 | $21,708 | 49% |
| Mississippi State University | $36,614 | $21,469 | $17,595 | 67% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $49,590 Hattiesburg, MS, $50,980 MS, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported Hattiesburg, MS, $119,430 MS, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage not reported Hattiesburg, MS, not reported MS, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
