# University of South Dakota: Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions (bachelor's)

Vermillion, SD. IPEDS 219471, CIP 51.15. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-south-dakota/majors/mental-and-social-health-services-and-allied-professions

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,191
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $52,211 (U.S. median for this major: $51,502 across 47 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,000 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in SD: 1 of 1 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: +$709

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.24 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $52,211 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in SD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,921 | $63,265 | 3.9 years |
| 30-48k | $15,942 | $67,594 | 4.1 years |
| 48-75k | $18,540 | $78,610 | 4.8 years |
| 75-110k | $21,202 | $89,896 | 5.5 years |
| 110k+ | $22,193 | $94,098 | 5.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions at SD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of South Dakota | $52,211 | $26,000 | $19,858 | 60% |

## Careers
- Child, Family, and School Social Workers (SOC 21-1021): median wage not reported metro, $51,100 SD, $59,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.4% by 2035
- Health Education Specialists (SOC 21-1091): median wage not reported metro, $57,370 SD, $64,070 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.6% by 2035
- Clergy (SOC 21-2011): median wage not reported metro, $59,860 SD, $60,810 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2.4% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
