# University of South Dakota: History (bachelor's)

Vermillion, SD. IPEDS 219471, CIP 54.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-south-dakota/majors/history

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $28,431
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $45,096 (U.S. median for this major: $50,540 across 454 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $24,000)
- Rank in SD: 2 of 2 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: -$5,444

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.24 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $45,096 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in SD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,921 | $63,265 | 6.8 years |
| 30-48k | $15,942 | $67,594 | 7.3 years |
| 48-75k | $18,540 | $78,610 | 8.5 years |
| 75-110k | $21,202 | $89,896 | 9.7 years |
| 110k+ | $22,193 | $94,098 | 10.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## History at SD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| South Dakota State University | $46,502 | $26,977 | $19,841 | 62% |
| University of South Dakota | $45,096 | $27,000 | $19,858 | 60% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage not reported metro, $51,050 SD, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported metro, $128,140 SD, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage not reported metro, not reported SD, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
