# University of Puget Sound: English (bachelor's)

Tacoma, WA. IPEDS 236328, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-puget-sound/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $29,291
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $50,690 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in WA: 6 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the WA median for this major (10 colleges, $50,718): -$28
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,742

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.13 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $50,690 minus $40,219 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in WA (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $23,643 | $97,646 | 9.3 years |
| 30-48k | $23,133 | $95,539 | 9.1 years |
| 48-75k | $31,649 | $130,710 | 12.5 years |
| 75-110k | $34,870 | $144,013 | 13.8 years |
| 110k+ | $45,456 | $187,733 | 17.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at WA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Seattle University | $78,906 | $19,750 | $34,662 | 76% |
| Gonzaga University | $59,151 | $27,000 | $35,119 | 86% |
| University of Washington-Seattle Campus | $57,649 | $18,017 | $14,091 | 85% |
| Seattle Pacific University | $52,378 | $25,701 | $24,488 | 62% |
| Washington State University | $50,745 | $21,375 | $14,971 | 61% |
| University of Puget Sound | $50,690 | $27,000 | $38,394 | 68% |
| Whitworth University | $47,699 | $24,642 | $26,534 | 71% |
| Western Washington University | $46,571 | $19,500 | $21,193 | 65% |
| Central Washington University | $43,101 | not reported | $18,476 | 54% |
| Eastern Washington University | $41,541 | $18,591 | $13,886 | 44% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $102,670 Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA, $102,670 WA, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported Seattle-Tacoma-Bellevue, WA, $53,890 WA, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
