# University of Oregon: History (bachelor's)

Eugene, OR. IPEDS 209551, CIP 54.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-oregon/majors/history

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $25,571
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $48,354 (U.S. median for this major: $50,540 across 454 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $18,675 (U.S. median $24,000)
- Rank in OR: 5 of 6 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the OR median for this major (6 colleges, $53,566): -$5,212
- Versus the U.S. median: -$2,186

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.2 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $48,354 minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in OR (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,909 | $66,818 | 5.7 years |
| 30-48k | $15,760 | $66,192 | 5.6 years |
| 48-75k | $18,364 | $77,129 | 6.5 years |
| 75-110k | $24,704 | $103,757 | 8.8 years |
| 110k+ | $31,021 | $130,288 | 11.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## History at OR colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Oregon State University | $56,790 | $24,332 | $19,604 | 70% |
| Oregon State University-Cascades Campus | $56,790 | $24,332 | $18,048 | 56% |
| Portland State University | $54,131 | $31,000 | $9,552 | 53% |
| University of Portland | $53,002 | not reported | $28,210 | 80% |
| University of Oregon | $48,354 | $18,675 | $22,182 | 72% |
| Southern Oregon University | $43,195 | $21,500 | $16,732 | 43% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $79,900 Eugene-Springfield, OR, $79,570 OR, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage $127,310 Eugene-Springfield, OR, $143,120 OR, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage not reported Eugene-Springfield, OR, $45,820 OR, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
