# University of Notre Dame: English (bachelor's)

Notre Dame, IN. IPEDS 152080, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-notre-dame/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $40,345
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $60,998 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $19,500 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in IN: 1 of 14 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IN median for this major (14 colleges, $40,418): +$20,580
- Versus the U.S. median: +$12,050

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.05 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $60,998 minus $35,534 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,244 | $29,338 | 1.2 years |
| 30-48k | $7,254 | $29,379 | 1.2 years |
| 48-75k | $11,432 | $46,300 | 1.8 years |
| 75-110k | $18,670 | $75,614 | 3.0 years |
| 110k+ | $45,321 | $183,550 | 7.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at IN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Notre Dame | $60,998 | $19,500 | $26,780 | 95% |
| Indiana University-Bloomington | $56,204 | $18,948 | $16,264 | 80% |
| Wabash College | $53,638 | $27,000 | $24,336 | 77% |
| Valparaiso University | $52,439 | not reported | $18,578 | 70% |
| Purdue University | $52,053 | $19,500 | $14,600 | 83% |
| Indiana University-Kokomo | $41,719 | not reported | $3,968 | 46% |
| Indiana State University | $40,676 | $27,000 | $10,873 | 43% |
| University of Southern Indiana | $40,159 | $22,480 | $12,923 | 48% |
| Ball State University | $38,676 | $24,750 | $14,940 | 62% |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis | $38,198 | $26,000 | $11,668 | 55% |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne | $38,113 | $17,888 | $13,171 | 36% |
| Indiana University-East | $38,061 | $26,991 | $8,134 | 40% |
| Purdue University Northwest | $34,560 | $26,279 | $6,079 | 43% |
| Indiana University-Northwest | $29,768 | not reported | $5,130 | 37% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $60,280 South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI, $61,880 IN, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported South Bend-Mishawaka, IN-MI, $40,920 IN, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
