# University of North Dakota: English (bachelor's)

Grand Forks, ND. IPEDS 200280, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-north-dakota/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: not reported
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $44,961 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in ND: 1 of 2 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,987

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.39 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $44,961 minus $40,610 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in ND (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $13,126 | $57,623 | 13.2 years |
| 30-48k | $12,251 | $53,782 | 12.4 years |
| 48-75k | $15,206 | $66,754 | 15.3 years |
| 75-110k | $18,981 | $83,327 | 19.2 years |
| 110k+ | $20,730 | $91,005 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at ND colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of North Dakota | $44,961 | $25,000 | $18,551 | 61% |
| North Dakota State University | $40,460 | $25,025 | $15,543 | 64% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $61,430 Grand Forks, ND-MN, $61,210 ND, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported Grand Forks, ND-MN, not reported ND, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
