# University of North Carolina at Pembroke: Sociology (bachelor's)

Pembroke, NC. IPEDS 199281, CIP 45.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-north-carolina-at-pembroke/majors/sociology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,051
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $44,935 (U.S. median for this major: $52,120 across 458 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $28,526 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in NC: 9 of 15 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NC median for this major (15 colleges, $46,195): -$1,260
- Versus the U.S. median: -$7,185

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.47 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $44,935 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NC (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,919 | $35,398 | 3.1 years |
| 30-48k | $8,892 | $39,747 | 3.5 years |
| 48-75k | $10,932 | $48,866 | 4.3 years |
| 75-110k | $14,564 | $65,101 | 5.7 years |
| 110k+ | $15,999 | $71,516 | 6.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sociology at NC colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Duke University | $61,425 | not reported | $29,612 | 97% |
| Wake Forest University | $60,635 | $23,000 | $28,719 | 89% |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh | $52,142 | $22,787 | $17,303 | 85% |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill | $51,801 | $14,925 | $11,655 | 91% |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte | $49,765 | $26,798 | $15,435 | 69% |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington | $48,591 | $24,125 | $20,109 | 71% |
| Appalachian State University | $47,180 | $20,606 | $16,836 | 75% |
| Western Carolina University | $46,195 | $23,250 | $13,315 | 60% |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke | $44,935 | $28,526 | $10,260 | 44% |
| East Carolina University | $44,918 | $25,750 | $15,739 | 63% |
| University of North Carolina Asheville | $44,824 | $23,250 | $12,250 | 55% |
| North Carolina A & T State University | $44,104 | $33,540 | $10,846 | 57% |
| Fayetteville State University | $43,889 | $31,888 | $7,892 | 39% |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro | $43,427 | $25,988 | $10,965 | 56% |
| Winston-Salem State University | $38,245 | not reported | $13,479 | 47% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported metro, $63,710 NC, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
