# University of North Alabama: Education (Elementary / Secondary) (bachelor's)

Florence, AL. IPEDS 101879, CIP 13.12. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-north-alabama/majors/education-elementary-secondary

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $42,529
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $47,973 (U.S. median for this major: $47,823 across 671 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $26,000)
- Rank in AL: 9 of 14 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (14 colleges, $48,836): -$863
- Versus the U.S. median: +$150

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.47 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $47,973 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,741 | $43,542 | 2.6 years |
| 30-48k | $10,127 | $45,268 | 2.7 years |
| 48-75k | $11,665 | $52,143 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $13,903 | $62,146 | 3.8 years |
| 110k+ | $14,866 | $66,451 | 4.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Education (Elementary / Secondary) at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samford University | $52,171 | $24,250 | $32,622 | 77% |
| Alabama State University | $51,014 | $34,750 | $20,435 | 30% |
| Auburn University | $49,258 | $22,250 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Troy University | $49,195 | $25,000 | $16,527 | 50% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $49,139 | $31,000 | $18,749 | 64% |
| The University of Alabama | $49,007 | $26,875 | $22,420 | 73% |
| University of South Alabama | $48,956 | $26,000 | $17,648 | 53% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | $48,715 | $30,750 | $13,224 | 33% |
| University of North Alabama | $47,973 | $25,000 | $12,170 | 55% |
| University of Montevallo | $47,823 | $24,750 | $17,683 | 54% |
| Jacksonville State University | $47,385 | $25,114 | $14,279 | 55% |
| University of Mobile | $45,152 | $30,750 | $22,382 | 57% |
| Athens State University | $44,214 | $23,581 | not reported | not reported |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | $42,922 | not reported | $18,796 | 64% |

## Careers
- Elementary school teacher (SOC 25-2021): median wage $60,580 Florence-Muscle Shoals, AL, $61,380 AL, $63,970 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $62,080 Florence-Muscle Shoals, AL, $61,990 AL, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Training and Development Specialists (SOC 13-1151): median wage $63,600 Florence-Muscle Shoals, AL, $64,490 AL, $69,280 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.8% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
