# University of Nevada-Reno: English (bachelor's)

Reno, NV. IPEDS 182290, CIP 23.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-nevada-reno/majors/english

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $24,797
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $45,095 (U.S. median for this major: $48,948 across 571 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,155 (U.S. median $24,552)
- Rank in NV: 3 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NV median for this major (3 colleges, $48,773): -$3,678
- Versus the U.S. median: -$3,853

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.38 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $45,095 minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NV (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,674 | $55,512 | 6.5 years |
| 30-48k | $13,125 | $57,488 | 6.7 years |
| 48-75k | $14,537 | $63,672 | 7.5 years |
| 75-110k | $18,317 | $80,228 | 9.4 years |
| 110k+ | $21,646 | $94,809 | 11.1 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## English at NV colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nevada State University | $56,591 | not reported | $14,068 | 34% |
| University of Nevada-Las Vegas | $48,773 | $23,008 | $10,359 | 51% |
| University of Nevada-Reno | $45,095 | $26,155 | $15,927 | 61% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $72,960 Reno, NV, $65,520 NV, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Proofreaders and Copy Markers (SOC 43-9081): median wage not reported Reno, NV, not reported NV, $51,120 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
