# University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Computer and Information Sciences (bachelor's)

Lincoln, NE. IPEDS 181464, CIP 11.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-nebraska-lincoln/majors/computer-and-information-sciences

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $78,017
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $116,221 (U.S. median for this major: $86,698 across 421 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,572 (U.S. median $24,656)
- Rank in NE: 1 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NE median for this major (5 colleges, $80,378): +$35,843
- Versus the U.S. median: +$29,523

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.3 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $116,221 minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NE (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,751 | $54,829 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $13,054 | $56,132 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $14,699 | $63,206 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $18,975 | $81,593 | 1.0 years |
| 110k+ | $22,346 | $96,088 | 1.2 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer and Information Sciences at NE colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln | $116,221 | $20,572 | $17,747 | 67% |
| Creighton University | $104,314 | not reported | $31,568 | 83% |
| Peru State College | $64,278 | not reported | $11,632 | 38% |
| University of Nebraska at Kearney | $61,988 | not reported | $16,242 | 58% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $101,690 Lincoln, NE, $110,900 NE, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $130,340 Lincoln, NE, $135,780 NE, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Computer Systems Analysts (SOC 15-1211): median wage $87,500 Lincoln, NE, $91,810 NE, $105,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
