# University of Nebraska-Lincoln: Biochemistry (bachelor's)

Lincoln, NE. IPEDS 181464, CIP 26.02. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-nebraska-lincoln/majors/biochemistry

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $33,520
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $64,521 (U.S. median for this major: $65,097 across 110 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $19,980 (U.S. median $21,626)
- Rank in NE: 1 of 1 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: -$576

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.3 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $64,521 minus $36,549 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NE (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,751 | $54,829 | 2.0 years |
| 30-48k | $13,054 | $56,132 | 2.0 years |
| 48-75k | $14,699 | $63,206 | 2.3 years |
| 75-110k | $18,975 | $81,593 | 2.9 years |
| 110k+ | $22,346 | $96,088 | 3.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Biochemistry at NE colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Nebraska-Lincoln | $64,521 | $19,980 | $17,747 | 67% |

## Careers
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage $122,670 Lincoln, NE, $120,620 NE, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Biological Technicians (SOC 19-4021): median wage not reported Lincoln, NE, $48,220 NE, $57,510 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.4% by 2035
- Microbiologists (SOC 19-1022): median wage not reported Lincoln, NE, $72,470 NE, $87,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
