# University of Mississippi: Psychology (bachelor's)

University, MS. IPEDS 176017, CIP 42.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-mississippi/majors/psychology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $30,336
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $49,974 (U.S. median for this major: $49,968 across 998 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,600 (U.S. median $25,490)
- Rank in MS: 1 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MS median for this major (9 colleges, $38,325): +$11,649
- Versus the U.S. median: +$6

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $49,974 minus $30,550 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $8,945 | $37,837 | 1.9 years |
| 30-48k | $9,217 | $38,988 | 2.0 years |
| 48-75k | $14,794 | $62,579 | 3.2 years |
| 75-110k | $18,573 | $78,564 | 4.0 years |
| 110k+ | $21,313 | $90,154 | 4.6 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Psychology at MS colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Mississippi | $49,974 | $24,600 | $13,314 | 72% |
| Jackson State University | $44,881 | $31,000 | $23,836 | 51% |
| Mississippi State University | $41,986 | $25,480 | $17,595 | 67% |
| Mississippi College | $39,933 | $26,000 | $27,712 | 59% |
| William Carey University | $38,325 | $32,693 | $14,258 | 60% |
| University of Southern Mississippi | $37,925 | $22,685 | $21,708 | 49% |
| Delta State University | $37,868 | $19,625 | $13,540 | 48% |
| Alcorn State University | $35,015 | $27,563 | $13,265 | 57% |
| Blue Mountain Christian University | $33,003 | $25,250 | $24,016 | 55% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported metro, not reported MS, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
