# University of Minnesota-Crookston: Plant Sciences (bachelor's)

Crookston, MN. IPEDS 174075, CIP 01.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-minnesota-crookston/majors/plant-sciences

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $57,915
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,240 (U.S. median for this major: $56,448 across 44 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,793 (U.S. median $20,500)
- Rank in MN: 1 of 2 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: +$2,792

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.2 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,240 minus $38,184 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $5,758 | $24,184 | 1.1 years |
| 30-48k | $6,368 | $26,746 | 1.3 years |
| 48-75k | $7,587 | $31,865 | 1.5 years |
| 75-110k | $13,542 | $56,876 | 2.7 years |
| 110k+ | $19,289 | $81,014 | 3.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Plant Sciences at MN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Minnesota-Crookston | $59,240 | $23,793 | $12,212 | 50% |
| University of Minnesota-Twin Cities | $52,707 | $15,391 | $16,778 | 85% |

## Careers
- Conservation Scientists (SOC 19-1031): median wage not reported Grand Forks, ND-MN, $71,280 MN, $73,010 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.3% by 2035
- Soil and Plant Scientists (SOC 19-1013): median wage not reported Grand Forks, ND-MN, $79,610 MN, $78,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.7% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
