# University of Maryland-College Park: Theatre (bachelor's)

College Park, MD. IPEDS 163286, CIP 50.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-maryland-college-park/majors/theatre

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $17,985
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $41,742 (U.S. median for this major: $40,085 across 251 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,681 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in MD: 1 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MD median for this major (4 colleges, $37,266): +$4,476
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,657

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.16 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $41,742 minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,962 | $12,322 | 2.5 years |
| 30-48k | $6,051 | $25,172 | 5.0 years |
| 48-75k | $10,273 | $42,736 | 8.5 years |
| 75-110k | $18,250 | $75,920 | 15.2 years |
| 110k+ | $26,691 | $111,035 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Theatre at MD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maryland-College Park | $41,742 | $20,681 | $15,678 | 89% |
| Towson University | $39,753 | $17,500 | $17,413 | 70% |
| University of Maryland-Baltimore County | $34,778 | $18,812 | $16,467 | 70% |
| Frostburg State University | $29,679 | not reported | $16,715 | 50% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage $100,270 Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV, $79,350 MD, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Writers and Authors (SOC 27-3043): median wage $108,460 Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV, $104,330 MD, $76,910 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.3% by 2035
- Fashion Designers (SOC 27-1022): median wage $62,400 Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV, not reported MD, $80,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs 0.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
