# University of Maryland-College Park: Spanish / French / Romance Languages (bachelor's)

College Park, MD. IPEDS 163286, CIP 16.09. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-maryland-college-park/majors/spanish-french-romance-languages

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $39,516
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,193 (U.S. median for this major: $56,122 across 225 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $22,750 (U.S. median $22,000)
- Rank in MD: 2 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MD median for this major (3 colleges, $59,193): +$0
- Versus the U.S. median: +$3,071

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.16 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,193 minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $2,962 | $12,322 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $6,051 | $25,172 | 1.1 years |
| 48-75k | $10,273 | $42,736 | 1.9 years |
| 75-110k | $18,250 | $75,920 | 3.4 years |
| 110k+ | $26,691 | $111,035 | 4.9 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Spanish / French / Romance Languages at MD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Loyola University Maryland | $69,353 | not reported | $30,574 | 79% |
| University of Maryland-College Park | $59,193 | $22,750 | $15,678 | 89% |
| Salisbury University | $59,193 | not reported | $17,743 | 68% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $80,300 Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV, $78,670 MD, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage $94,510 Washington-Arlington-Alexandria, DC-VA-MD-WV, $88,550 MD, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
