# University of Maryland-Baltimore County: Studio Art (bachelor's)

Baltimore, MD. IPEDS 163268, CIP 50.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-maryland-baltimore-county/majors/studio-art

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $23,879
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $35,125 (U.S. median for this major: $41,590 across 420 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,625 (U.S. median $25,361)
- Rank in MD: 8 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the MD median for this major (9 colleges, $44,442): -$9,317
- Versus the U.S. median: -$6,465

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.38 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $35,125 minus $36,731 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in MD (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $5,087 | $22,281 | no earnings gain |
| 30-48k | $10,714 | $46,927 | no earnings gain |
| 48-75k | $16,543 | $72,458 | no earnings gain |
| 75-110k | $22,172 | $97,113 | no earnings gain |
| 110k+ | $25,439 | $111,423 | no earnings gain |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Studio Art at MD colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Maryland-College Park | $55,713 | $20,000 | $15,678 | 89% |
| Towson University | $48,238 | $17,978 | $17,413 | 70% |
| Frostburg State University | $45,220 | $24,834 | $16,715 | 50% |
| Salisbury University | $44,514 | $24,239 | $17,743 | 68% |
| St. Mary's College of Maryland | $44,442 | not reported | $18,441 | 70% |
| Hood College | $44,411 | not reported | $20,873 | 57% |
| Mount St. Mary's University | $39,651 | $20,500 | $22,655 | 65% |
| University of Maryland-Baltimore County | $35,125 | $24,625 | $16,467 | 70% |
| Maryland Institute College of Art | $34,283 | $27,000 | $42,729 | 72% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $78,350 Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD, $78,670 MD, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Art Directors (SOC 27-1011): median wage $97,460 Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD, $98,400 MD, $114,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage $45,120 Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD, $76,900 MD, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
