# University of Maine at Augusta: Accounting (bachelor's)

Augusta, ME. IPEDS 161217, CIP 52.03. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-maine-at-augusta/majors/accounting

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $48,330
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $62,035 (U.S. median for this major: $74,373 across 741 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $29,503 (U.S. median $24,903)
- Rank in ME: 5 of 5 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the ME median for this major (5 colleges, $65,815): -$3,780
- Versus the U.S. median: -$12,338

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.58 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $62,035 minus $36,661 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in ME (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,421 | $43,148 | 1.7 years |
| 30-48k | $9,175 | $42,022 | 1.7 years |
| 48-75k | $11,228 | $51,424 | 2.0 years |
| 75-110k | $14,037 | $64,289 | 2.5 years |
| 110k+ | $15,371 | $70,399 | 2.8 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Accounting at ME colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Southern Maine | $71,945 | $19,230 | $13,596 | 40% |
| University of Maine | $65,906 | $27,000 | $17,510 | 55% |
| Husson University | $65,815 | $27,375 | $21,005 | 59% |
| Thomas College | $65,028 | $27,000 | $18,885 | 54% |
| University of Maine at Augusta | $62,035 | $29,503 | $10,924 | 27% |

## Careers
- Accountant / auditor (SOC 13-2010): median wage not reported metro, $77,480 ME, $83,680 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035
- Financial Managers (SOC 11-3031): median wage not reported metro, $133,610 ME, $166,570 U.S.; U.S. jobs 9.7% by 2035
- Financial and Investment Analysts (SOC 13-2051): median wage not reported metro, $88,320 ME, $102,740 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
