# University of Louisville: Spanish / French / Romance Languages (bachelor's)

Louisville, KY. IPEDS 157289, CIP 16.09. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-louisville/majors/spanish-french-romance-languages

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: not reported
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $42,369 (U.S. median for this major: $56,122 across 225 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,400 (U.S. median $22,000)
- Rank in KY: 5 of 5 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the KY median for this major (5 colleges, $44,561): -$2,192
- Versus the U.S. median: -$13,753

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.35 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $42,369 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $15,138 | $65,850 | 7.4 years |
| 30-48k | $14,601 | $63,514 | 7.2 years |
| 48-75k | $16,419 | $71,423 | 8.1 years |
| 75-110k | $20,995 | $91,328 | 10.3 years |
| 110k+ | $25,186 | $109,559 | 12.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Spanish / French / Romance Languages at KY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Kentucky | $56,234 | not reported | $18,851 | 71% |
| Western Kentucky University | $53,921 | not reported | $10,990 | 56% |
| Northern Kentucky University | $44,561 | not reported | $8,191 | 52% |
| Transylvania University | $42,439 | $26,873 | $21,913 | 72% |
| University of Louisville | $42,369 | $20,400 | $17,988 | 61% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $74,040 Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN, $61,560 KY, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091): median wage $53,590 Louisville/Jefferson County, KY-IN, $53,590 KY, $60,170 U.S.; U.S. jobs 2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
