# University of Kansas: Geology / Earth Science (bachelor's)

Lawrence, KS. IPEDS 155317, CIP 40.06. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-kansas/majors/geology-earth-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $41,626
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $61,838 (U.S. median for this major: $60,453 across 137 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in KS: 1 of 1 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,385

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.26 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $61,838 minus $34,216 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in KS (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,544 | $53,437 | 1.9 years |
| 30-48k | $12,942 | $55,133 | 2.0 years |
| 48-75k | $15,154 | $64,556 | 2.3 years |
| 75-110k | $19,169 | $81,660 | 3.0 years |
| 110k+ | $22,544 | $96,037 | 3.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Geology / Earth Science at KS colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Kansas | $61,838 | $27,000 | $18,059 | 69% |

## Careers
- Natural Sciences Managers (SOC 11-9121): median wage not reported Lawrence, KS, $153,820 KS, $167,220 U.S.; U.S. jobs 8.2% by 2035
- Geoscientists, Except Hydrologists and Geographers (SOC 19-2042): median wage not reported Lawrence, KS, $80,080 KS, $101,920 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
