# University of Illinois Chicago: Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design (bachelor's)

Chicago, IL. IPEDS 145600, CIP 50.04. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-illinois-chicago/majors/graphic-interior-fashion-design

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $34,377
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $59,188 (U.S. median for this major: $53,514 across 277 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,750 (U.S. median $26,502)
- Rank in IL: 6 of 12 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the IL median for this major (12 colleges, $58,190): +$998
- Versus the U.S. median: +$5,674

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.41 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $59,188 minus $35,797 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in IL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $7,529 | $33,203 | 1.4 years |
| 30-48k | $8,119 | $35,805 | 1.5 years |
| 48-75k | $10,921 | $48,162 | 2.1 years |
| 75-110k | $16,185 | $71,376 | 3.1 years |
| 110k+ | $25,047 | $110,457 | 4.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design at IL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign | $65,186 | $18,839 | $14,355 | 85% |
| Illinois State University | $61,628 | $24,986 | $19,398 | 65% |
| Southern Illinois University-Carbondale | $61,493 | not reported | $13,297 | 62% |
| Bradley University | $60,888 | not reported | $22,719 | 76% |
| Loyola University Chicago | $59,928 | not reported | $36,079 | 73% |
| University of Illinois Chicago | $59,188 | $25,750 | $10,974 | 62% |
| North Central College | $57,192 | $22,000 | $21,044 | 64% |
| DePaul University | $55,213 | $27,000 | $30,902 | 68% |
| Columbia College Chicago | $48,601 | $27,000 | $26,598 | 52% |
| Dominican University | $47,930 | $26,978 | $11,745 | 55% |
| Lewis University | $45,704 | not reported | $17,028 | 67% |
| Roosevelt University | $29,529 | $27,000 | $20,194 | 35% |

## Careers
- Graphic designer (SOC 27-1024): median wage $66,490 Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, $62,560 IL, $62,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.7% by 2035
- Web and Digital Interface Designers (SOC 15-1255): median wage $87,920 Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, $85,710 IL, $104,000 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035
- Art Directors (SOC 27-1011): median wage $104,570 Chicago-Naperville-Elgin, IL-IN, $103,550 IL, $114,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
