# University of Houston: Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design (bachelor's)

Houston, TX. IPEDS 225511, CIP 50.04. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-houston/majors/graphic-interior-fashion-design

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $47,461
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $64,612 (U.S. median for this major: $53,514 across 277 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $27,000 (U.S. median $26,502)
- Rank in TX: 3 of 13 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (13 colleges, $57,753): +$6,859
- Versus the U.S. median: +$11,098

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.39 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $64,612 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,929 | $47,978 | 1.5 years |
| 30-48k | $10,220 | $44,866 | 1.4 years |
| 48-75k | $12,528 | $54,998 | 1.8 years |
| 75-110k | $19,197 | $84,275 | 2.7 years |
| 110k+ | $23,811 | $104,530 | 3.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Graphic / Interior / Fashion Design at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Texas at Austin | $69,846 | $22,500 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas Christian University | $68,313 | not reported | $36,660 | 86% |
| University of Houston | $64,612 | $27,000 | $14,276 | 65% |
| Baylor University | $63,522 | $26,500 | $41,104 | 80% |
| East Texas A&M University | $61,748 | not reported | $11,841 | 43% |
| Texas State University | $61,539 | $24,353 | $16,805 | 55% |
| University of North Texas | $57,753 | $22,288 | $15,649 | 61% |
| Sam Houston State University | $57,019 | $29,000 | $16,404 | 55% |
| Saint Edward's University | $54,297 | $26,000 | $25,578 | 63% |
| Abilene Christian University | $49,818 | $21,875 | $26,182 | 59% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | $48,472 | $27,000 | $22,775 | 51% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | $47,186 | $20,403 | $18,267 | 76% |
| Lamar University | $46,341 | not reported | $9,366 | 37% |

## Careers
- Graphic designer (SOC 27-1024): median wage $58,400 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $60,150 TX, $62,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs -1.7% by 2035
- Web and Digital Interface Designers (SOC 15-1255): median wage $96,750 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $102,650 TX, $104,000 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035
- Art Directors (SOC 27-1011): median wage $91,570 Houston-Pasadena-The Woodlands, TX, $88,270 TX, $114,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
