# University of California-San Diego: Economics (bachelor's)

La Jolla, CA. IPEDS 110680, CIP 45.06. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-california-san-diego/majors/economics

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $51,192
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $87,307 (U.S. median for this major: $79,489 across 368 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $15,000 (U.S. median $22,907)
- Rank in CA: 15 of 39 colleges by 4-year earnings

## Economics at CA colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Claremont McKenna College | $146,524 | $12,000 | $28,849 | 91% |
| University of California-Berkeley | $135,050 | $13,000 | $13,481 | 93% |
| Santa Clara University | $121,307 | $19,500 | $50,062 | 88% |
| Stanford University | $112,700 | $12,500 | $13,807 | 92% |
| Pepperdine University | $104,943 | $24,250 | $58,098 | 83% |
| Occidental College | $103,164 | $25,590 | $38,263 | 81% |
| Northeastern University Oakland | $101,423 | $24,500 | $25,181 | not reported |
| California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo | $98,927 | $18,500 | $16,665 | 86% |
| University of California-Santa Barbara | $98,178 | $13,516 | $16,109 | 83% |
| Pomona College | $96,702 | not reported | $19,285 | 93% |
| University of California-Los Angeles | $95,440 | $15,000 | $12,548 | 93% |
| University of Southern California | $94,435 | $14,000 | $32,740 | 92% |
| University of San Francisco | $93,712 | $21,500 | $41,431 | 70% |
| Loyola Marymount University | $88,682 | $21,500 | $48,381 | 79% |
| University of California-San Diego | $87,307 | $15,000 | $12,470 | 86% |
| University of California-Irvine | $83,937 | $15,499 | $14,251 | 87% |
| Sonoma State University | $83,668 | $20,125 | $12,885 | 58% |
| California State University-San Marcos | $83,339 | $17,500 | $10,229 | 55% |
| University of California-Davis | $83,248 | $13,000 | $14,741 | 86% |
| San Francisco State University | $82,697 | $13,750 | $12,278 | 50% |
| University of the Pacific | $79,510 | not reported | $25,447 | 69% |
| California State University-Bakersfield | $78,029 | not reported | $5,652 | 50% |
| University of California-Santa Cruz | $76,382 | $18,017 | $17,890 | 75% |
| San Diego State University | $74,123 | $15,250 | $15,364 | 76% |
| California State University-Northridge | $72,890 | $13,000 | $7,021 | 57% |
| California State University-Channel Islands | $71,662 | not reported | $9,849 | 51% |
| California State University-Fullerton | $71,595 | $12,000 | $6,555 | 70% |
| California State University-Long Beach | $71,220 | $18,375 | $10,440 | 69% |
| California State University-Sacramento | $70,290 | $17,625 | $9,338 | 56% |
| California State University-Stanislaus | $69,967 | not reported | $6,067 | 54% |
| University of California-Merced | $67,692 | $19,303 | $11,983 | 69% |
| California State University-Chico | $67,675 | $19,150 | $14,480 | 63% |
| California State University-East Bay | $67,155 | not reported | $9,320 | 48% |
| California State University-Fresno | $66,749 | $16,110 | $7,000 | 57% |
| University of California-Riverside | $66,682 | $18,500 | $14,304 | 76% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt | $61,175 | not reported | $13,171 | 49% |
| California State Polytechnic University-Pomona | $61,084 | $11,858 | $11,531 | 68% |
| California State University-Los Angeles | $54,998 | $11,000 | $3,967 | 53% |
| California State University-San Bernardino | $54,060 | $17,500 | $4,564 | 55% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $102,810 San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA, $101,370 CA, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Market Research Analysts and Marketing Specialists (SOC 13-1161): median wage $79,440 San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA, $94,700 CA, $78,760 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage $130,990 San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA, $141,590 CA, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
