# University of Alabama at Birmingham: Sociology (bachelor's)

Birmingham, AL. IPEDS 100663, CIP 45.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-of-alabama-at-birmingham/majors/sociology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $28,137
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $40,148 (U.S. median for this major: $52,120 across 458 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $28,979 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in AL: 3 of 4 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (4 colleges, $40,790): -$642
- Versus the U.S. median: -$11,972

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.37 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $40,148 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $16,172 | $70,672 | 8.2 years |
| 30-48k | $15,500 | $67,735 | 7.8 years |
| 48-75k | $19,161 | $83,734 | 9.7 years |
| 75-110k | $21,805 | $95,288 | 11.0 years |
| 110k+ | $22,597 | $98,749 | 11.4 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sociology at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spring Hill College | $56,160 | not reported | $20,449 | 52% |
| Troy University | $41,433 | $43,500 | $16,527 | 50% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $40,148 | $28,979 | $18,749 | 64% |
| University of North Alabama | $33,810 | $26,750 | $12,170 | 55% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage not reported Birmingham, AL, $53,080 AL, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
