# University at Buffalo: Chemistry (bachelor's)

Buffalo, NY. IPEDS 196088, CIP 40.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/university-at-buffalo/majors/chemistry

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $35,284
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $68,413 (U.S. median for this major: $66,486 across 209 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,250 (U.S. median $23,600)
- Rank in NY: 8 of 14 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the NY median for this major (14 colleges, $68,670): -$257
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,927

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.24 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $68,413 minus $34,633 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in NY (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $14,668 | $62,192 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $16,585 | $70,320 | 2.1 years |
| 48-75k | $21,262 | $90,151 | 2.7 years |
| 75-110k | $24,117 | $102,256 | 3.0 years |
| 110k+ | $28,079 | $119,055 | 3.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Chemistry at NY colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| New York University | $86,197 | $23,250 | $37,050 | 88% |
| Cornell University | $79,311 | $15,121 | $28,690 | 95% |
| Le Moyne College | $77,564 | not reported | $22,277 | 73% |
| SUNY College at Geneseo | $75,893 | not reported | $18,211 | 72% |
| Stony Brook University | $71,783 | $22,750 | $18,784 | 76% |
| University at Albany | $70,124 | $25,856 | $17,167 | 62% |
| Rochester Institute of Technology | $68,926 | $24,677 | $34,906 | 70% |
| University at Buffalo | $68,413 | $23,250 | $20,995 | 75% |
| Syracuse University | $68,017 | $21,459 | $38,793 | 84% |
| SUNY Buffalo State University | $61,262 | $24,373 | $11,346 | 33% |
| CUNY Lehman College | $60,413 | $12,136 | $3,148 | 51% |
| Binghamton University | $55,167 | $19,500 | $21,620 | 82% |
| CUNY Hunter College | $54,699 | $9,000 | $2,984 | 57% |
| St. John's University-New York | $51,414 | $22,000 | $29,999 | 66% |

## Careers
- Chemist (SOC 19-2031): median wage $84,510 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, $90,600 NY, $91,240 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6.4% by 2035
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $79,280 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, $97,070 NY, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Data Scientists (SOC 15-2051): median wage $102,250 Buffalo-Cheektowaga, NY, $130,460 NY, $120,230 U.S.; U.S. jobs 34.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
