# Trinity University: Political Science (bachelor's)

San Antonio, TX. IPEDS 229267, CIP 45.10. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/trinity-university/majors/political-science

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $27,601
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $68,934 (U.S. median for this major: $61,935 across 561 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $23,457)
- Rank in TX: 5 of 27 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (27 colleges, $59,466): +$9,468
- Versus the U.S. median: +$6,999

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.12 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $68,934 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $10,356 | $42,667 | 1.2 years |
| 30-48k | $13,260 | $54,631 | 1.5 years |
| 48-75k | $14,305 | $58,937 | 1.7 years |
| 75-110k | $22,134 | $91,192 | 2.6 years |
| 110k+ | $34,549 | $142,342 | 4.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Political Science at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rice University | $87,804 | not reported | $13,370 | 95% |
| The University of Texas at Austin | $75,988 | $20,500 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas Christian University | $75,419 | $25,000 | $36,660 | 86% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $69,375 | $19,749 | $21,315 | 84% |
| Trinity University | $68,934 | $25,000 | $23,464 | 84% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | $65,869 | $23,000 | $18,267 | 76% |
| Saint Edward's University | $63,504 | $23,250 | $25,578 | 63% |
| Dallas Baptist University | $62,372 | not reported | $28,516 | 57% |
| Southwestern University | $61,935 | $24,625 | $29,224 | 73% |
| Baylor University | $61,578 | $26,000 | $41,104 | 80% |
| University of Houston | $61,533 | $19,500 | $14,276 | 65% |
| University of Dallas | $61,484 | $21,500 | $22,610 | 73% |
| Tarleton State University | $59,542 | not reported | $20,783 | 48% |
| Texas Tech University | $59,466 | $23,375 | $19,070 | 69% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | $59,261 | $21,600 | $10,542 | 33% |
| University of North Texas | $57,852 | $17,750 | $15,649 | 61% |
| Texas State University | $56,716 | $22,760 | $16,805 | 55% |
| Sam Houston State University | $55,894 | $25,125 | $16,404 | 55% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | $54,069 | $21,097 | $9,403 | 50% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio | $53,674 | $20,000 | $10,836 | 53% |
| Texas A & M International University | $50,544 | $14,606 | $3,637 | 47% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington | $50,006 | $20,406 | $13,951 | 54% |
| Stephen F Austin State University | $49,980 | $20,250 | $14,260 | 53% |
| Texas Woman's University | $48,429 | $30,162 | $11,963 | 49% |
| St. Mary's University | $46,620 | $19,500 | $21,145 | 59% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | $44,895 | $10,250 | $4,831 | 51% |
| Prairie View A & M University | $41,831 | $23,538 | $13,570 | 43% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $61,840 San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX, $63,590 TX, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage $67,780 San Antonio-New Braunfels, TX, $58,070 TX, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
