# The University of Texas at Austin: Theatre (bachelor's)

Austin, TX. IPEDS 228778, CIP 50.05. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-texas-at-austin/majors/theatre

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $33,261
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $48,781 (U.S. median for this major: $40,085 across 251 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $26,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in TX: 1 of 16 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (16 colleges, $42,037): +$6,744
- Versus the U.S. median: +$8,696

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.2 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $48,781 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,553 | $52,723 | 3.5 years |
| 30-48k | $14,297 | $60,047 | 3.9 years |
| 48-75k | $17,207 | $72,269 | 4.7 years |
| 75-110k | $24,406 | $102,505 | 6.7 years |
| 110k+ | $30,082 | $126,344 | 8.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Theatre at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Texas at Austin | $48,781 | $26,000 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas State University | $48,502 | $21,500 | $16,805 | 55% |
| Saint Edward's University | $47,974 | $26,000 | $25,578 | 63% |
| West Texas A & M University | $47,175 | $22,328 | $19,487 | 55% |
| Baylor University | $45,706 | $24,130 | $41,104 | 80% |
| Texas Christian University | $42,483 | $27,000 | $36,660 | 86% |
| University of North Texas | $42,362 | $25,000 | $15,649 | 61% |
| University of Houston | $42,301 | not reported | $14,276 | 65% |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi | $41,773 | $22,658 | $15,225 | 40% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | $41,720 | not reported | $22,775 | 51% |
| Stephen F Austin State University | $41,450 | $26,000 | $14,260 | 53% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | $38,865 | $16,001 | $4,831 | 51% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington | $36,457 | $27,000 | $13,951 | 54% |
| Sam Houston State University | $36,389 | $22,250 | $16,404 | 55% |
| Southern Methodist University | $35,844 | $24,000 | $40,892 | 84% |
| Texas Tech University | $30,074 | $26,500 | $19,070 | 69% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage $78,050 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $71,710 TX, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Writers and Authors (SOC 27-3043): median wage $75,380 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $69,990 TX, $76,910 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.3% by 2035
- Fashion Designers (SOC 27-1022): median wage $100,520 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $40,040 TX, $80,960 U.S.; U.S. jobs 0.1% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
