# The University of Texas at Austin: Computer and Information Sciences (bachelor's)

Austin, TX. IPEDS 228778, CIP 11.01. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-texas-at-austin/majors/computer-and-information-sciences

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $111,587
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $155,168 (U.S. median for this major: $86,698 across 421 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $20,500 (U.S. median $24,656)
- Rank in TX: 2 of 29 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (29 colleges, $80,857): +$74,311
- Versus the U.S. median: +$68,470

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.2 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $155,168 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,553 | $52,723 | under 1 year |
| 30-48k | $14,297 | $60,047 | under 1 year |
| 48-75k | $17,207 | $72,269 | under 1 year |
| 75-110k | $24,406 | $102,505 | under 1 year |
| 110k+ | $30,082 | $126,344 | 1.0 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Computer and Information Sciences at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rice University | $182,443 | $12,381 | $13,370 | 95% |
| The University of Texas at Austin | $155,168 | $20,500 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $129,401 | $20,395 | $21,315 | 84% |
| Texas Tech University | $113,062 | $23,197 | $19,070 | 69% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio | $106,358 | $22,625 | $10,836 | 53% |
| University of North Texas | $104,024 | $24,500 | $15,649 | 61% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | $103,603 | $18,642 | $18,267 | 76% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | $103,286 | $23,250 | $9,403 | 50% |
| East Texas A&M University | $100,394 | $22,062 | $11,841 | 43% |
| University of Houston | $98,790 | $18,751 | $14,276 | 65% |
| Trinity University | $98,708 | $24,059 | $23,464 | 84% |
| Sam Houston State University | $96,727 | $23,473 | $16,404 | 55% |
| Texas A & M University-Corpus Christi | $86,698 | $26,425 | $15,225 | 40% |
| Lamar University | $85,680 | $26,071 | $9,366 | 37% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | $80,857 | $16,043 | $4,831 | 51% |
| The University of Texas at Tyler | $79,754 | $21,500 | $13,323 | 54% |
| University of Houston-Victoria | $79,123 | $20,671 | $8,109 | 26% |
| Texas State University | $77,701 | $21,046 | $16,805 | 55% |
| Tarleton State University | $76,980 | $24,634 | $20,783 | 48% |
| Texas Woman's University | $76,555 | $18,399 | $11,963 | 49% |
| Prairie View A & M University | $75,631 | $28,064 | $13,570 | 43% |
| University of Houston-Clear Lake | $75,617 | $28,143 | $15,563 | 52% |
| Stephen F Austin State University | $75,271 | $25,000 | $14,260 | 53% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | $72,528 | $19,000 | $10,542 | 33% |
| Our Lady of the Lake University | $67,919 | not reported | $16,442 | 46% |
| University of the Incarnate Word | $65,405 | $28,986 | $22,775 | 51% |
| Texas A&M University-Central Texas | $63,281 | $24,095 | $1,300 | not reported |
| Angelo State University | $57,583 | $20,500 | $15,091 | 44% |
| South Texas College | $46,438 | $6,967 | $1,751 | 27% |

## Careers
- Software developer (SOC 15-1252): median wage $134,120 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $132,150 TX, $135,980 U.S.; U.S. jobs 10.2% by 2035
- Computer and Information Systems Managers (SOC 11-3021): median wage $176,990 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $171,530 TX, $175,140 U.S.; U.S. jobs 15.8% by 2035
- Computer Systems Analysts (SOC 15-1211): median wage $104,590 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $107,390 TX, $105,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
