# The University of Tennessee Southern: Nursing (bachelor's)

Pulaski, TN. IPEDS 220701, CIP 51.38. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-tennessee-southern/majors/nursing

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $67,349
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $45,980 (U.S. median for this major: $85,212 across 858 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,683 (U.S. median $27,000)
- Rank in TN: 27 of 27 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TN median for this major (28 colleges, $77,105): -$31,125
- Versus the U.S. median: -$39,232

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.23 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $45,980 minus $34,518 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,335 | $39,487 | 3.4 years |
| 30-48k | $12,071 | $51,060 | 4.5 years |
| 48-75k | $15,343 | $64,901 | 5.7 years |
| 75-110k | $17,336 | $73,331 | 6.4 years |
| 110k+ | $17,135 | $72,481 | 6.3 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Nursing at TN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tennessee State University | $92,380 | $31,000 | $15,796 | 34% |
| Christian Brothers University | $92,007 | not reported | $9,854 | 55% |
| Southern Adventist University | $83,525 | $28,191 | $24,345 | 49% |
| King University | $83,010 | $25,000 | $22,347 | 48% |
| Milligan University | $82,961 | $27,000 | $21,365 | 63% |
| Baptist Health Sciences University | $82,135 | $47,500 | $11,212 | 40% |
| Bethel University | $80,794 | $25,000 | $12,595 | 35% |
| The University of Tennessee Health Science Center | $80,055 | $29,537 | not reported | not reported |
| Lincoln Memorial University | $79,561 | $27,750 | $20,406 | 50% |
| Belmont University | $79,069 | $25,625 | $33,147 | 71% |
| Cumberland University | $78,954 | $29,250 | $18,759 | 46% |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga | $77,838 | $23,558 | $14,265 | 50% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville | $77,118 | $23,292 | $18,976 | 74% |
| The University of Tennessee-Martin | $77,092 | $25,231 | $10,701 | 53% |
| University of Memphis | $75,444 | $27,168 | $12,397 | 51% |
| Middle Tennessee State University | $75,061 | $27,884 | $13,359 | 54% |
| East Tennessee State University | $74,311 | $25,091 | $15,983 | 53% |
| Lipscomb University | $74,051 | $26,623 | $24,739 | 72% |
| Austin Peay State University | $73,564 | $27,576 | $9,735 | 40% |
| Union University | $72,824 | $29,127 | $27,171 | 66% |
| Tennessee Technological University | $71,762 | $18,349 | $14,246 | 58% |
| Tennessee Wesleyan University | $71,084 | not reported | $14,836 | 48% |
| Carson-Newman University | $70,769 | $25,000 | $20,251 | 53% |
| Lee University | $70,388 | $25,300 | $18,878 | 63% |
| Freed-Hardeman University | $67,718 | $24,800 | $21,574 | 71% |
| Tusculum University | $65,012 | $26,744 | $21,131 | 26% |
| The University of Tennessee Southern | $45,980 | $25,683 | $12,798 | 37% |

## Careers
- Registered nurse (SOC 29-1140): median wage not reported metro, $81,500 TN, $97,550 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5.6% by 2035
- Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111): median wage not reported metro, $107,120 TN, $123,860 U.S.; U.S. jobs 24.2% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
