# The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga: Studio Art (bachelor's)

Chattanooga, TN. IPEDS 221740, CIP 50.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-tennessee-chattanooga/majors/studio-art

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $21,766
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $37,293 (U.S. median for this major: $41,590 across 420 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $25,361)
- Rank in TN: 5 of 9 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TN median for this major (9 colleges, $37,293): +$0
- Versus the U.S. median: -$4,297

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.41 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $37,293 minus $34,518 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TN (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $9,876 | $43,553 | 15.7 years |
| 30-48k | $10,919 | $48,153 | 17.4 years |
| 48-75k | $13,594 | $59,950 | more than 20 years |
| 75-110k | $17,374 | $76,619 | more than 20 years |
| 110k+ | $19,137 | $84,394 | more than 20 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Studio Art at TN colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Memphis | $48,064 | $28,850 | $12,397 | 51% |
| Middle Tennessee State University | $44,760 | $24,760 | $13,359 | 54% |
| Lee University | $39,988 | $29,750 | $18,878 | 63% |
| Tennessee Technological University | $37,730 | $13,935 | $14,246 | 58% |
| The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga | $37,293 | $25,000 | $14,265 | 50% |
| Tennessee State University | $36,332 | not reported | $15,796 | 34% |
| The University of Tennessee-Knoxville | $34,609 | $27,000 | $18,976 | 74% |
| East Tennessee State University | $34,516 | $23,875 | $15,983 | 53% |
| Austin Peay State University | $33,880 | $24,750 | $9,735 | 40% |

## Careers
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education (SOC 25-2031): median wage $65,100 Chattanooga, TN-GA, $61,860 TN, $72,040 U.S.; U.S. jobs -0.2% by 2035
- Art Directors (SOC 27-1011): median wage $76,110 Chattanooga, TN-GA, $89,860 TN, $114,850 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.2% by 2035
- Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013): median wage not reported Chattanooga, TN-GA, $44,710 TN, $51,440 U.S.; U.S. jobs 3.6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
