# The University of Alabama: Marketing (bachelor's)

Tuscaloosa, AL. IPEDS 100751, CIP 52.14. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-alabama/majors/marketing

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $48,879
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $77,451 (U.S. median for this major: $66,808 across 497 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $23,071 (U.S. median $24,214)
- Rank in AL: 1 of 10 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (10 colleges, $55,042): +$22,409
- Versus the U.S. median: +$10,643

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.27 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $77,451 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,169 | $81,852 | 1.8 years |
| 30-48k | $19,884 | $84,905 | 1.8 years |
| 48-75k | $22,258 | $95,042 | 2.1 years |
| 75-110k | $25,658 | $109,560 | 2.4 years |
| 110k+ | $26,729 | $114,133 | 2.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Marketing at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama | $77,451 | $23,071 | $22,420 | 73% |
| Auburn University | $74,702 | $20,500 | $24,323 | 82% |
| Samford University | $70,839 | $18,000 | $32,622 | 77% |
| University of Alabama in Huntsville | $58,015 | $23,000 | $18,796 | 64% |
| University of Alabama at Birmingham | $56,591 | $26,750 | $18,749 | 64% |
| University of Montevallo | $53,492 | not reported | $17,683 | 54% |
| Auburn University at Montgomery | $51,899 | not reported | $13,224 | 33% |
| University of North Alabama | $51,124 | $21,500 | $12,170 | 55% |
| University of South Alabama | $50,483 | $26,000 | $17,648 | 53% |
| Jacksonville State University | $47,514 | $19,500 | $14,279 | 55% |

## Careers
- Marketing specialist (SOC 13-1160): median wage $53,090 Tuscaloosa, AL, $59,530 AL, $78,760 U.S.; U.S. jobs 7% by 2035
- Sales Managers (SOC 11-2022): median wage $108,750 Tuscaloosa, AL, $124,040 AL, $148,270 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4.5% by 2035
- Web and Digital Interface Designers (SOC 15-1255): median wage $86,110 Tuscaloosa, AL, $51,860 AL, $104,000 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
