# The University of Alabama: Broadcasting / Digital Media (bachelor's)

Tuscaloosa, AL. IPEDS 100751, CIP 09.07. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/the-university-of-alabama/majors/broadcasting-digital-media

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $31,911
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $55,894 (U.S. median for this major: $49,542 across 156 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $24,823 (U.S. median $24,289)
- Rank in AL: 1 of 3 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the AL median for this major (3 colleges, $50,497): +$5,397
- Versus the U.S. median: +$6,352

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.27 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $55,894 minus $31,484 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in AL (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $19,169 | $81,852 | 3.4 years |
| 30-48k | $19,884 | $84,905 | 3.5 years |
| 48-75k | $22,258 | $95,042 | 3.9 years |
| 75-110k | $25,658 | $109,560 | 4.5 years |
| 110k+ | $26,729 | $114,133 | 4.7 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Broadcasting / Digital Media at AL colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The University of Alabama | $55,894 | $24,823 | $22,420 | 73% |
| University of Montevallo | $50,497 | not reported | $17,683 | 54% |
| Troy University | $44,859 | $26,000 | $16,527 | 50% |

## Careers
- Producers and Directors (SOC 27-2012): median wage $61,830 Tuscaloosa, AL, $63,340 AL, $90,360 U.S.; U.S. jobs 4% by 2035
- Web and Digital Interface Designers (SOC 15-1255): median wage $86,110 Tuscaloosa, AL, $51,860 AL, $104,000 U.S.; U.S. jobs 6% by 2035
- News Analysts, Reporters, and Journalists (SOC 27-3023): median wage not reported Tuscaloosa, AL, $43,440 AL, $62,200 U.S.; U.S. jobs -5.9% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
