# Texas State University: Sociology (bachelor's)

San Marcos, TX. IPEDS 228459, CIP 45.11. Page: https://educationguide.com/colleges/texas-state-university/majors/sociology

## Graduate outcomes
- Median earnings 1 year after graduating: $37,263
- Median earnings 4 years after graduating: $53,434 (U.S. median for this major: $52,120 across 458 colleges)
- Median federal loan debt: $25,000 (U.S. median $25,000)
- Rank in TX: 8 of 24 colleges by 4-year earnings
- Versus the TX median for this major (24 colleges, $46,328): +$7,106
- Versus the U.S. median: +$1,314

## Cost to finish and years to pay back (EducationGuide calculation)
School-wide net price x 4.41 years (average time graduates took). Earnings gain = $53,434 minus $33,516 for high school graduates ages 25-34 in TX (Census ACS 2020-2024).

| Family income | Net price / yr | Cost to finish | Years to pay back |
|---|---|---|---|
| 0-30k | $12,715 | $56,073 | 2.8 years |
| 30-48k | $13,557 | $59,786 | 3.0 years |
| 48-75k | $13,804 | $60,876 | 3.1 years |
| 75-110k | $20,028 | $88,323 | 4.4 years |
| 110k+ | $24,713 | $108,984 | 5.5 years |

Method: https://educationguide.com/how-we-score#value

## Sociology at TX colleges
| College | Earnings 4 yrs | Median debt | Avg. net price | Graduation |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Texas Christian University | $62,392 | $23,187 | $36,660 | 86% |
| The University of Texas at Austin | $58,807 | $23,000 | $19,857 | 89% |
| Texas A&M University-College Station | $57,857 | $19,000 | $21,315 | 84% |
| Baylor University | $57,822 | $25,937 | $41,104 | 80% |
| The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley | $57,807 | not reported | $4,831 | 51% |
| The University of Texas at Arlington | $54,401 | $30,941 | $13,951 | 54% |
| University of North Texas at Dallas | $53,689 | not reported | $6,420 | 42% |
| Texas State University | $53,434 | $25,000 | $16,805 | 55% |
| Texas Woman's University | $52,196 | $33,719 | $11,963 | 49% |
| Texas Tech University | $51,527 | $25,000 | $19,070 | 69% |
| University of North Texas | $49,257 | $21,782 | $15,649 | 61% |
| The University of Texas at Dallas | $46,551 | not reported | $18,267 | 76% |
| University of Houston-Downtown | $46,106 | $27,375 | $10,542 | 33% |
| The University of Texas at San Antonio | $45,866 | $24,490 | $10,836 | 53% |
| University of Houston | $45,530 | $18,500 | $14,276 | 65% |
| East Texas A&M University | $45,301 | $26,490 | $11,841 | 43% |
| Texas A&M University-San Antonio | $45,191 | $17,458 | $11,196 | 40% |
| Texas A & M International University | $44,654 | $15,812 | $3,637 | 47% |
| Lamar University | $44,286 | $36,615 | $9,366 | 37% |
| Wiley University | $42,714 | not reported | $7,092 | 24% |
| Sam Houston State University | $42,152 | $29,000 | $16,404 | 55% |
| McMurry University | $41,749 | not reported | $19,581 | 44% |
| Midwestern State University | $39,067 | not reported | $11,656 | 43% |
| The University of Texas at El Paso | $35,325 | $22,328 | $9,403 | 50% |

## Careers
- Social Science Research Assistants (SOC 19-4061): median wage $64,900 Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX, $58,070 TX, $61,990 U.S.; U.S. jobs 5% by 2035

## Sources and years
- Earnings (4 yr): Treasury AY2017-2018, AY2018-2019 pooled earnings cohort measured in CY2022, CY2023, inflation adjusted to 2024 dollars; debt: NSLDS pooled AY2018-19, AY2019-20 cohort

Free to reuse with attribution: cite "EducationGuide.com" with a link to the page URL. Most figures are U.S. government data (public domain); loan default rates and athletics come from the Urban Institute Education Data Portal (ODC-By 1.0, attribution required) and founding years from Wikidata (CC0).
